RSS Feed

Eight Hundred Grapes by Laura Dave

Posted on

eight-hundred-grapesSo Eight Hundred Grapes was my choice for summer book club. I would have enjoyed reading this one even just on my own, but it’s packed with family drama so it’s even better to read with friends and discuss. This was a quick read for me; with every chapter, more kept unfolding and I wanted to know what was going to happen so I found myself reading while standing at the kitchen island while the kids ate lunch, reading just one more chapter at bedtime, and reading while the kids watched Peppa Pig in the afternoon!

The family dynamics were my favorite. There were moments I gasped out loud when things happened with the brothers or with Georgia’s mom. I had a hunch where the author was going with the love interest from pretty early on. And I had very mixed feelings about Ben, Georgia’s fiancé. (No spoilers here.) Overall, I thought it was a really satisfying read. There were parts that stayed in my mind afterward. The family–though crazy complicated!–loves each other fiercely. I love stories with families like that. Because truly, life is complicated, but your family should be there for you no matter what. I thought the book was well paced, it definitely held my attention. I loved the wine/vineyard aspect of the story. I could picture the earthiness of the ground and the grapes and the harvest. It’s definitely good to read this book with a glass of wine nearby (and maybe some lasagna)!

This was an excellent read. Loved it!

About Brandy

Brandy Bruce is a Bookvana award-winning author, editor, wife, mother, and someone who really loves dessert. She has a BA in English from Liberty University. She currently works as a freelance editor--reading, writing, editing, and making good use of online dictionaries. She's married to Jeff and has three beautiful children.

Leave a Reply

