RSS Feed

Mist of Midnight by Sandra Byrd

Posted on

01_mist-of-midnightSo I stopped by the library before our trip in the hope that I’d quickly find a book to grab. I was so excited to find Mist of Midnight by Sandra Byrd right up front with all the new fiction! I’ve heard a lot about it and have been wanting to read it. It’s a little hard to start new books at the moment. With baby feedings and the endlessness of getting Lincoln chocolate milk and snack–or the never-ending sweeping and dish washing–time gets away from me. (P.S. I recently told Jeff that even though I’ve just quit my job, we really might need a maid service. He just looked at me like maybe I am missing something.) Anyway, I find myself re-reading books that I’ve read (and enjoyed) so I can skim if I need to or skip around. But I knew we had a really long drive ahead of us once we got to Virginia, and a new book sounded doable. Luckily, Mist of Midnight drew me in right from the start and I finished it by the time we reached Florida.

It’s a gothic love story (feels a little Bronte-ish), which I like but only if the story isn’t too dark. (I’d always choose Pride and Prejudice over Wuthering Heights.) The heroine is smart and determined but not annoying. I feel like a lot of the female characters in books I’ve read lately are supposedly “strong” but mostly that translates to bossy and stubborn and must have her way. Uncool. The heroine in this novel is likeable and a woman of substance. Her convictions are tempered by her compassion. The story keeps you guessing and the romance isn’t too rushed. The cover is gorgeous and matches the tone of the book. It’s an enjoyable read. I’m definitely going to check out more Sandra Byrd novels.

About Brandy

Brandy Bruce is an author, editor, wife, mother, and someone who really loves dessert. She has a BA in English from Liberty University. She currently works as a freelance editor--reading, writing, editing, and making good use of online dictionaries. She's married to Jeff and has three beautiful children.

Leave a Reply

