RSS Feed

Adventure . . . Write About It

Posted on

imagesCAKQ302HI’m linking up with Write or Die today and the topic was adventure. It’s funny because this was the topic at dinner the other night with our small group. We were each supposed to share an adventure story. I feel like I had to go way back to college to search for adventure stories! Not that parenting isn’t an adventure. It is! And publishing books is a fantastic adventure. But as for true-blue, “I went on an adventure”–well, what came to mind was a trip I took the year before I graduated college. My then-fiance Jeff, my friend Monica, one English professor, and myself all joined up with a tour group to visit Ireland, Scotland, Wales, England, and France. I tacked Italy on at the end and met up with my dad (who was working overseas at the time). It was a total adventure.

Here’s the thing, I’ve never been much of a journaler–you know, someone who keeps a diary or writes in her journal. Over the years I’ve written in journals–then I would read what I wrote later, feel absolutely ridiculous and throw it away. But on my Europe trip, I took along a small journal and wrote something down every single day. Even a small recap of what we did that day. And it’s something I value so much! A little record of one of my biggest adventures. The flight alone was a scary adventure (I’d never been on a plane for so many hours!). Then getting to Ireland and realizing it was freezing and I had packed for summer (what in the world).

Getting married at Gretna Green in Scotland while my English professor nearly had a heart attack during the ceremony (I think he was worried that he wasn’t supposed to allow students to get married on this school trip. Lucky for him, the marriage was only legal in Scotland).

Walking through ruins of a castle in Wales (where the queen had just been the day before!). Hearing Born in the USA played in French while on the tour bus in Paris. Going to the movies in London and seeing Spiderman. Seeing the Statue of David while in Italy (with my dad–um, a little awkward!). Feeling small and completely in awe of the Vatican. Running to catch a moving train that we were supposed to be on. Falling in love with Edinborough. Lunch by a river in the Lake District. The wind blowing hard at Stonehenge.

Basically it was the trip of a lifetime. It was my adventure and it inspired what would become my novel Looks Like Love. I’m so thankful I journaled on that trip. After all, you want to remember your best adventures.

About Brandy

Brandy Bruce is a Bookvana award-winning author, editor, wife, mother, and someone who really loves dessert. She has a BA in English from Liberty University. She currently works as a freelance editor--reading, writing, editing, and making good use of online dictionaries. She's married to Jeff and has three beautiful children.

2 responses »

  1. That’s amazing, what a wonderful adventure, Brandy! It sounds like the trip of a lifetime. 🙂 Thanks so much for sharing your adventure with us. xo

    Reply
  2. *grin* Getting married at Gretna Green sounds awesome!! The Jane Austen/Georgette Heyer lover in me is completely jealous!

    (heya, I stumbled here through the Write or Die Wednesdays. You seem awesome, so I’m probably going to start following this blog. Just thought I’d introduce myself!)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

