RSS Feed

The Mysterious Death of Miss Jane Austen by Lindsay Ashford

Posted on

the-mysterious-death-of-miss-jane-austen-by-lindsay-ashford-2013-x-200So I flew to Texas recently and took this book with me. Flying alone (rare for me), I settled in with this book as soon as the plane took off. I was engrossed! I made it more than half way through the book during the two-hour flight. I waited to finish until the return flight. I have to say that I was caught up in the mystery of this book right away and thoroughly enjoyed it and now want to research every aspect of Jane Austen’s death.

Good writing, compelling storytelling, intriguing characters, and a topic that I find fascinating to begin with (Jane)–I loved this book. It felt so true! You have to wonder if this could have happened. However, the ending leaves you just a little unsatisfied. But it has to be that way, I suppose, because of the theories posed in the book. I don’t want to give spoilers for any Jane-ites out there who might read the book. It’s worth reading and I am so glad I did. You know me, I believe in closure and I like books that give us that (unless they leave room for sequels). But, in some ways, you do get a sense of closure in the book. The mystery and excellent writing make this such a fun, entertaining read.

From what I’ve heard, this book was so realistically written that it sparked some controversy on Jane Austen’s death (not that there isn’t any out there to begin with; there are only guesses and theories on the illness that killed her). If you’re a fan of Jane, definitely read this book and see what you think!

About Brandy

Brandy Bruce is an author, editor, wife, mother, and someone who really loves dessert. She has a BA in English from Liberty University. She currently works as a freelance editor--reading, writing, editing, and making good use of online dictionaries. She's married to Jeff and has three beautiful children.

Leave a Reply

