RSS Feed

Sever by Lauren DeStefano

Posted on

New%20Severx-inset-communitySo remember how I raved about Wither, the first book in the Chemical Garden trilogy? Right, and then I just muddled through Fever, a little unsure about how much I liked that one but still needing closure? Well, Sever just came out! The final book in the trilogy. I picked this one up at the library and read it in the span of about 24 hours.

I gave myself a little time to reflect on my feelings after reading Sever, before writing this review. To be honest, I was annoyed when I first finished the book. (I’m trying to avoid spoilers because I know my sister Sara hasn’t read it yet. We’ll see if I can pull that off.) Without giving names, an important character dies in this book and I was frustrated by that.

But after thinking it over, I feel that maybe that specific death helped pull together the other characters and leave room for moving on. I think perhaps I’m just a little tired of all the depression in these YA futuristic/fantasy books. Beginning with Mockingjay, I just felt the depressing aspect outweighed the enjoyment. I recently finished read Promised (Birthmarked trilogy, we’ll talk about it soon), and again, I felt the ending was heavy and sad. I think maybe these authors are so intent on being real, that they end up being depressing. For me, if I’m taking time out of my schedule to read, I don’t want those hours to leave me depressed and unsatisfied. A little realism is good, but please don’t make me depressed.

Anyway, back to Sever, I liked the pacing, and the twists and turns were good. I like to be surprised and I definitely was. And now that I’m a few days removed from the story, I think my overall opinion is good. The story wraps up pretty well. If you’ve read Wither and Fever, definitely read this one. You’ll want to know the ending, just expect some sadness. Wither remains my very favorite of the three, but I’m glad I stuck with this series to the end.

About Brandy

Brandy Bruce is a Bookvana award-winning author, editor, wife, mother, and someone who really loves dessert. She has a BA in English from Liberty University. She currently works as a freelance editor--reading, writing, editing, and making good use of online dictionaries. She's married to Jeff and has three beautiful children.

Leave a Reply

