RSS Feed

Angelfall by Susan Ee

Posted on

ImageOhmigosh. I just finished Angelfall by Susan Ee and I am trying to get a hold of all my thoughts! As usual, I was introduced to this book by my sister Sara. She got it for Christmas because it was on her wish list, and she immediately handed it to me and said that I needed to read it ASAP because it’s awesome. So, so right. At the beginning, it reminded me of Hunger Games because our main girl has a younger sister she loves and needs to take care of and a mother who is unreliable and emotionally unstable. But that’s where the similarities ended really.

Basically, angels have descended and completely destroyed the modern world. If I had one complaint, it would be that I don’t feel we got enough history. There are so many unanswered questions about what actually happened and who’s in charge and so on. I know the author was setting the scene for the next book in the series, but I think we needed a little more to go on. Anyway, our main girl, Penryn (love that name!), is on a mission to save her little sister from the scary angels and she has to team up with Raffe, an angel, to do it. They form sort of a shaky alliance at first, but over time, they really do need each other for survival. The ending sort of leaves you hanging, but it feels like an appropriate ending and it worked. I will definitely be reading the next book.

What I found so cool and interesting was the supernatural aspect of this book. For a believer like myself, the thought of angels and demons and all that isn’t so unfamiliar. I am really interested in seeing how the author develops the “God” figure. She has Raffe, an angel remember, as an agnostic. I was thinking, there’s a verse in Scripture that tells us that even “the demons believe, and tremble” (when speaking of believing in God. James 2:19). For me, this was a really thought-provoking book. Raffe talks to Penryn about the angels that fell from heaven and the nephilim (I think I’m spelling that right). Those aspects of the story came from the Bible so I found them to be really intriguing.

Overall, great characters, great pacing, and a fascinating storyline. Though I have to warn you that there are some dark parts and things that make you cringe. Still, this was a really great book and I’m hooked on the series. 🙂

 

About Brandy

Brandy Bruce is an author, editor, wife, mother, and someone who really loves dessert. She has a BA in English from Liberty University. She currently works as a freelance editor--reading, writing, editing, and making good use of online dictionaries. She's married to Jeff and has three beautiful children.

Leave a Reply

