RSS Feed

Insurgent by Veronica Roth

Posted on

So I just finished reading Insurgent by Veronica Roth, the sequel to Divergent. I have to say I’m always a little skeptical that a sequel will live up to its predecessor, and lots of times, if the sequel isn’t strong enough, I drop out of the series. I loved Divergent. And Insurgent was a really good follow-up. *Spoilers ahead so beware.

We pick up with Tris and Tobias and I felt like the author did a good job of portraying the strengths and weaknesses of their relationship and developing their characters. I never got tired of following Tris through the story, though some aspects disappointed me somewhat. All the lies and secrets between her and Tobias don’t really set the foundation for a mature relationship, but they each have their reasons for that. Still, Tris choosing to side with Marcus at the end felt over-the-top to me. I could understand her logic, but I wish she’d included Tobias in her thought process and been honest with him. I wish she’d tried harder to convince him of what she thought was right instead of seemingly stabbing him in the back by siding with his abusive father. Still, despite that, you know that Tris sees what she’s doing as more important than saving her relationship with her boyfriend–and you’ve got to appreciate that. She’s a strong female character–very flawed, but that’s not necessarily a bad thing. And for once, we see a girl who will sacrifice her relationship for what she knows is right. She stands for more than romance! 🙂

Moving on, I really disliked Marcus’s character. I don’t like how the author wants us to see both good and bad in him. We can see that in most characters, that doesn’t make him a good character. If he’s not held accountable for his bad choices, then it just feels like injustice. I was thankful that toward the end, Tris clarified that she wouldn’t help save him if it came to that. She wasn’t overlooking what he had done. (Though it felt like it at times.)

I hope we see more of Caleb in the next book, his betrayal was a shock but made me wonder if there’s more to him than what we saw. And I’m glad to say that I will be reading the next book as soon as it comes out. Veronica Roth has done a great job with this series so far and I’m excited to see where she takes Tris and Tobias!

About Brandy

Brandy Bruce is a Bookvana award-winning author, editor, wife, mother, and someone who really loves dessert. She has a BA in English from Liberty University. She currently works as a freelance editor--reading, writing, editing, and making good use of online dictionaries. She's married to Jeff and has three beautiful children.

One response »

  1. I confess, I didn’t read your whole post – I skimmed it – in case I get a chance to read the books. I think this is the series I read excerpts from and decided I would like to read more. Or maybe it was another new series, but either way … these look like good books! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

