RSS Feed

Author Interview with Fantasy Author Amy Green!

Posted on

Hi friends! So I’m super excited to introduce you to a friend of mine and a YA fantasy author. Drumroll please . . . Amy Green!

I actually got to know Amy because she was an intern at our publishing company for the summer. Which means she’s still in college, people! She’s one of those lucky ones who got published her first time around at a young age. So she was spared the years of rejection letters. You may or may not be able to relate to that, but I think it’s encouraging to see new people finding their way onto bookshelves. It can happen for you too! OK, let’s chat.

 

BB: So you’re a writer! Were you one of those kids practically born with a pen
in your hand? Give us a glimpse of where your love of story came from.

AG: Whenever I played Barbies with my twin sister, she would insist that we either have a wedding or a fashion show. This routine got boring pretty quickly, so I would create elaborate plots (Tourist Barbie gets locked in an Egyptian pyramid! Princess Barbie meets a gypsy who turns her into a talking mirror!), and then throw in a fashion show at the end, usually when Barbie was trying to find the perfect disguise for her secret missions.

Later, when I was old enough to actually write down my stories, I tried to make them just like my favorite books—at least in length. I wrote my first “novel” in seventh grade. (43,000 words…ironically, 1,000 words longer than my first published book.) It was terrible, as were the next four that I wrote in my middle school years. And the problem was, I knew it, and it frustrated me.

My mom (and teacher at the time) encouraged me to keep going. I’d get better in time, she said. And, as usual, she was right.

BB: You’ve written two books so far, how would you describe them? Where did the inspiration come from for
those stories?

AG: I’ve written two Christian fantasy books, Quest for the Scorpion’s Jewel and Escape From Riddler’s Pass, published with Warner Press in 2011 (with two more on the way soon). They’re classified as juvenile fiction (ages 8-12), but I often find them in the teen section of bookstores because the main character is fifteen. I’ve heard from both kids and teens who enjoyed them.

I wrote Quest for the Scorpion’s Jewel because my sister, studying elementary education, wanted a children’s book for her eighteenth birthday, and that seemed like a better deal to me than spending money on a present. I’m not sure where the idea itself came from, but it probably came in the shower. Most of my ideas do, for some reason.

BB: Since you’re a writer, I’m assuming you’re a reader! What books are you
currently reading? Do you have a favorite book you recommend?

I’m currently reading Pride and Prejudice (I’m a little ashamed to admit it’s my first Jane Austen novel) and Culture Making by Andy Crouch. One of my favorite books is Me, Myself, and Bob. It’s the autobiography of Phil Vischer, the creator of VeggiesTales, and the story of what happens when you let your dream become more important to you than God.

BB: What are your goals for the future?

AG: All writers fall somewhere along the outlining spectrum—some list every detail of the plot ahead of time and write in the gaps, and others start at the beginning and make it up from there. I’m in the second group, and all of my career goals are as vague as my outlines—finish projects, write more juvenile and YA books, read classic books on writing, figure out where the market is going and go there first, try curriculum writing. If I get too specific, I’d probably treat the goals as a checklist and miss some surprise opportunities on the way. My end career goal is getting more education so I can teach writing, probably at a college level. But first I have to graduate college. Working on that one right now.

BB: What advice do you offer aspiring writers?

AG: Don’t do it alone. Find a group of writers to swap manuscripts with. Or just find a reader who will give you honest and detailed thoughts on what you should change. It’s not only about having good editors, though—sometimes just talking with others who have a similar passion has been the boost I needed to keep working on a long project when writer’s block was dragging me down. I’ve probably learned more from my fellow writers than I have from books or classes.

Fabulous! Thanks so much for stopping by, Amy. You can check out her blog here.

About Brandy

Brandy Bruce is a Bookvana award-winning author, editor, wife, mother, and someone who really loves dessert. She has a BA in English from Liberty University. She currently works as a freelance editor--reading, writing, editing, and making good use of online dictionaries. She's married to Jeff and has three beautiful children.

Leave a Reply

