RSS Feed

Under the Never Sky by Veronica Rossi

Posted on

Hey guys! It’s been awhile since I updated you on what I’ve been reading. I recently finished Under the Never Sky by Veronica Rossi and for the most part, I really really liked this book. I have to say ‘for the most part’ because something happened at the end I didn’t like. But I’m still planning on reading book 2, so I’m invested. What I love about this book is our heroine. She’s likable (not whiny, not pining, not obsessive). She’s got good character qualities. And for 99% of the book I really liked our main guy. He’s a strong character. The relationship dynamic between them is really gradual. That’s a refreshing departure from ‘girl sees hot guy and is now ready to make her world revolve around him.’ The fantasy aspect of the story is really intriguing. But watch out because I’ve got a couple of spoilers to share. So if you haven’t read it and you want to, leave now. 🙂

Things I was upset about: that the mother dies. It feels like a trend in YA books that the parents have to die. The parents are always dying! Let somebody live already! Second, at the end Perry kills his brother. One second before, he’s realizing it’s archaic that his sister couldn’t marry who she wanted. But apparently he doesn’t think it’s archaic to still fight to the death for the tribe. He killed his brother! The father of the beloved nephew! I was super disappointed in that. I guess he only thought the other thing was archaic because it might affect his relationship with Aria. 

I’m going to read the next book in the hope that Aria isn’t quite so blasé about the whole “I murdered my brother to be chief” situation. We’ll see. Anyway, that happens at the very end, and up to that point, I was sold on the story.

*On a side note, for all my Colorado friends, Looks Like Love is still at all Tattered Cover locations in Denver! Go pick up a copy and show me some love!

About Brandy

Brandy Bruce is an author, editor, wife, mother, and someone who really loves dessert. She has a BA in English from Liberty University. She currently works as a freelance editor--reading, writing, editing, and making good use of online dictionaries. She's married to Jeff and has three beautiful children.

Leave a Reply

