RSS Feed

The Dashwood Sisters Tell All by Beth Pattillo

Posted on

Hi everybody! How’re all the book-lovers out there? So I just finished reading Beth Pattillo’s The Dashwood Sisters Tell All and want to talk about it. Obviously, it’s a Jane Austen-themed book, which I’m totally cool with since I love all things Jane Austen! Isn’t the cover beautiful? It was the first thing that struck me when I saw this book at the library. Pattillo has two other Austen-esque novels (Mr. Darcy Broke My Heart and Jane Austen Ruined My Life) and I’m definitely interested in checking those out having finished this one. So, back to The Dashwood Sisters Tell All, well, to be honest, I thought it started a little slow. I’ve been picking this one up for a few weeks now, reading a few pages or a chapter and then coming back to it later. I’m happy to say that eventually the pace really picks up, the mystery deepens, the relationships develop beyond surface level, and it turns out to be a fun book that’s not all that predictable. The main story is about these two sisters whose mother has died and sent them on a Jane Austen adventure with her last dying wish, along with a secret diary that may or may not be the original diary of Cassandra Austen. The women obviously are polar oppisites and do not have a good relationship. This is really a book about sisters. The Dodge sisters, Jane and Cassandra Austen, and Marianne and Elinor from Sense and Sensibility. And I really enjoyed that aspect of the book. We’re following the Dodge sisters, but the parts about Jane and Cassandra are so fun and intriguing. I finished this book and felt a very strong urge to turn on the movie Sense and Sensibility. Once the pace picked up and the mystery started to thicken, I totally got into the book and didn’t want to put it down. So while it starts slow, stick with it if you’re into this kind of fiction.  It’s a fun story with enough heart to tug at your emotions.

About Brandy

Brandy Bruce is an author, editor, wife, mother, and someone who really loves dessert. She has a BA in English from Liberty University. She currently works as a freelance editor--reading, writing, editing, and making good use of online dictionaries. She's married to Jeff and has three beautiful children.

Leave a Reply

