RSS Feed

Fever by Lauren DeStefano

Posted on

I have been waiting on pins and needles for this book to come out. I got it from the library this week and read it in two days. It was a fast read. But I sort of have mixed feelings about it. Let me say right away that I love this series. I thought Wither was fantastic. The futuristic, unique plot of all girls dying by the age of 20 and all boys dying by the age of 25 as the “older” generation desperately seeks a cure for this problem is just so gripping. I think the covers are amazing. Being a book editor myself, I so appreciate when designers come back and just blow you away with something that perfectly captures the book. This designer is great. Okay, on to Fever.  It’s definitely a stepping stone to the next book. In other words, it just feels like a bridge to get where we’re going. And that’s fine. But to me, it was a really heavy book. Lots of depressing stuff and hardly any relief from that. With Wither, the relationships among the sister wives is so intriguing and well-developed that there’s some distraction from all the tragedy. Plus, there’s the mystery of the Housemaster and what’s going on in the basement. There’s the love interest developing with Gabriel and the strange connection to Linden as well. In Fever, one bad thing after another happens until you reach the end. But despite that, you’re left wanting more. So in that sense, it’s a good story. There’s no way I can not read the next book. I’ve got to know what happens at this point. But I wish there’d been a little more to this book that wasn’t so depressing. For much of the time, both Rhine and Gabriel are drugged. So we’re reading in kind of a haze. *spoiler* Then Rhine’s sick, then she’s being tortured.

Rhine’s entire perspective in the first book is about wanting to get back to her brother. But we’re not really any closer to achieving that (until the very last page). Spoiler* I feel like we kind of just went in a bad circle back to Vaughn and his mad scientist-ness.

Am I glad I read it? Absolutely, I’m hooked on this series and care about these characters. Was I depressed after reading it? A little, yes. The story felt heavy and dark. I could’ve used a little more light. Maybe just a little comic relief or hopeful parts. Am I counting down to read the next one? Absolutely. I won’t have closure until I know what happens to Rhine. So, there you have it!

About Brandy

Brandy Bruce is a Bookvana award-winning author, editor, wife, mother, and someone who really loves dessert. She has a BA in English from Liberty University. She currently works as a freelance editor--reading, writing, editing, and making good use of online dictionaries. She's married to Jeff and has three beautiful children.

3 responses »

  1. Hey, thank you for the comment & for this review; I will check out “Wither”, which sounds like it might be a good add to my “Divergent”, “Hunger Games” reading tastes right now.

    Reply
  2. themommypsychologist

    I haven’t heard of this series before. I love the idea, though. I’m always on the lookout for my next read. I think I will add this to my list! Thanks!

    “The child psychologist who thought she had all the answers to parenting until she became one herself.” http://www.themommypsychologist.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

