RSS Feed

Legend by Marie Lu

Posted on

So I just finished reading Legend by Marie Lu and let me tell you, it’s a page-turner! It took me two days to finish it and that’s mainly because I have children to feed and bathe and change diapers for and all that jazz. It’s intense with a pace kind of like Hunger Games and Divergent, you don’t want to stop reading till you reach the end. It’s YA dystopian lit, which I’m hooked on, so I loved the plot. The US has long since divided into two groups: the Republic and the Colonies, and they are constantly at war. June and Day are our main characters and they’re interesting and likeable. I’m really excited to see how the author develops their relationship. I get the feeling she’s not going to go the easy route, which I’m thrilled by. *Spoiler alert*

In a very real way, June is partly responsible for the deaths of two of Day’s family members. Despite his intense attraction to her, can he overlook this sort of crucial fact? I don’t know. What’s happening with Eden and the government-engineered plague? What are the Colonies really like? What about Tess’s future? All these questions and more make waiting for book 2 so difficult! There are some torture scenes in the book, but it’s written in a very tasteful, not overly gory way, and it’s vital to the story. I’m not one for torture, but I could handle reading this. I really liked the complex aspects of June and Day. They come from opposite worlds, but then again, they have a lot in common. They liked each other from the get go, but June was reacting in a bad way to what she thought happened to her brother, and this reaction ends up devastating Day’s life. How do you get past that?  I think the author’s set all this up in a great way and I’m looking forward to the next book!

About Brandy

Brandy Bruce is a Bookvana award-winning author, editor, wife, mother, and someone who really loves dessert. She has a BA in English from Liberty University. She currently works as a freelance editor--reading, writing, editing, and making good use of online dictionaries. She's married to Jeff and has three beautiful children.

2 responses »

  1. The buzz for this book is great. I’m not crazy about the cover, but no one’s mentioned it so it must suit the book. I’m adding it to my wish list.

    Reply
    • I totally agree! I kept thinking they could have done something so much cooler and more appealing with this cover. But the book is great regardless!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

