RSS Feed

Little Women and Me by Lauren Baratz-Logsted

Posted on

Move over, Amy March. Emily’s got your number.

I read about this novel a while back in PW, then forgot about it. Then saw it on the shelf at the library this week and remembered that I wanted to read it. I’m so glad I did. It took only a day to read it–so it’s a really fast, easy read. And for anyone who likes Little Women, it’s a fun read. Definitely YA, the main character is only 14, I think. So it feels like a young story. But it’s cute and quirky and has a really great twist at the end that I just loved. Like the author, I’m one of those people who thinks it’s one of the greatest tragedies ever that Amy March ends up with Laurie, rather than Jo. Well, 14-year-old Emily gets sucked into the story during a homework assignment and is intent on changing a few things during her time with the March family. There’s some humor in the story, some fun twists and turns along the way–but I think the ending is the best part. I won’t spoil it for you, but if you’re a fan of the original, I think you’ll like it. Like I said, it feels like a young story–and some parts felt a little slow, to be honest. But we’re talking 1860 here–I mean, they sewed and talked for entertainment. It’s not exactly life in the fast lane. 🙂 And Emily keeps things interesting for us. Just being back with the characters of Meg, Jo, Beth, Amy and Laurie is fun and enjoyable. I recommend this one for fans of YA historical lit especially. Happy reading!

About Brandy

Brandy Bruce is a Bookvana award-winning author, editor, wife, mother, and someone who really loves dessert. She has a BA in English from Liberty University. She currently works as a freelance editor--reading, writing, editing, and making good use of online dictionaries. She's married to Jeff and has three beautiful children.

One response »

  1. This sounds super cute! I’ll have to pick it up for my girls and I to read together. Thanks for the recommend!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

