RSS Feed

Life As We Knew It by Susan Pfeffer

Posted on

 So I just finished reading Life As We Knew It by Susan Beth Pfeffer. And I’m still trying to decide just how I feel about it. In some ways, this is a fantastic book. In a lot of ways, really. It’s incredibly well-written. Great character development, good pacing, very creative plot.

Let’s talk about the plot just a little bit. This book is written in diary form by a 17-year-old girl (Miranda), and life as she knew it has just changed forever. A meteor has knocked the moon closer to earth, resulting in world catastrophes and climate changes. Suddenly there’s no electricity, food is scarce, communicating via phone or Internet is rarely possible. The storyline is riveting, and to be honest, I read this whole book in one sitting because I could not put it down.

However, I’ve said before that I’m the kind of person who needs closure. You don’t get it in this book. It’s one of those “come to your own conclusions” book. And I don’t do well with those. If I’ve invested time and emotion into reading about people for hundreds of pages, I want to know what happens to them. Then I found out that this is actually part of a trilogy. Hallelujah! Closure, right? Well, I read lots of interviews on Amazon and apparently the final book has a really vague ending. No closure. So I’m not going to read the next two books. However, I have to say that this book was really, really good. It’s a page-turner and the author does a fantastic job of making us care about the characters and creating a very realistic setting.

So realistic, in fact, that I found myself feeling rather depressed while I was reading this book. It’s not a light-hearted read, and it never turns into one. Again, I’m not great with that kind of story. I don’t like feeling depressed when I’ve finished reading a book. But the fact that I couldn’t put it down tells me that the writing is amazingly good–it’s just not the kind of book that I want to read again and again. Still, I recommend it for fans of dystopian or sci-fi YA literature. It’s an easy, fast read that you won’t want to set aside, though; so block out some time once you start reading.

About Brandy

Brandy Bruce is an author, editor, wife, mother, and someone who really loves dessert. She has a BA in English from Liberty University. She currently works as a freelance editor--reading, writing, editing, and making good use of online dictionaries. She's married to Jeff and has three beautiful children.

3 responses »

  1. This book always looked interesting to me, but I haven’t read many reviews on it, so thanks for this one! I hate books with no closure, but I guess a lot of the times it’s done so you will read the next books.

    Reply
  2. i loved this book! i felt like there was closure. you know they are safe and are going to live, for awhile anyway.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

