RSS Feed

A few of my favorite things . . . (including vampires)

Posted on

Hi everybody! So, it’s almost Halloween. Fabulous. I will have a cheat day that includes pumpkin dip and cinnamon cookies, candy corn, miniature snickers . . . Can you hear my sigh of happiness? ūüôā

Anyway, I’ve been looking at all these great book blogs lately and thinking of some of my fav books. So I thought I’d go back and mention a few great YA reads that are also super appropriate for Halloween! ¬†First mention: Blue Bloods¬†by Melissa de la Cruz.¬†This is sort of a Gossip Girl meets Vampire Academy series. Blue Bloods is all about these high society vampires (who are actually fallen angels that keep being reborn). I loved the first book of this series. I have to be honest and say that I didn’t keep up with the series after about book 3, but I really love the¬†creativity the author used, especially in book one. I’m a fan of historical fiction,¬†and the author weaved some of that through in book one. I highly recommend this book.

 

Okay, moving on. Evermore by Alyson Noel. Ever is a 17-year-old girl whose mom, dad, sister, and dog died in a car crash. She was the only survivor. Now she can hear people’s thoughts and see auras and all that cool stuff. There’s mystery and romance. I stopped reading this series after Blue Moon; honestly it got a little too mystical for me. But Evermore has great characters and is a very fun read.

 

Next up: Vampire Academy.¬†I really loved this series. Though I didn’t read the last book after learning¬†that the main girl, Rose, doesn’t end up with the guy I wanted her to end up with. Still, it’s a great series with lots of intensity.¬†I was so hooked on the first¬†four books that I couldn’t stop reading. There’s royalty, vampires, dhampirs¬†(human/vampire),¬†¬†strigoi (powerful, evil vampires)–it’s just a really cool series.

 

Okay, last for now: Morganville Vampires. Claire is this super smart 16-year-old who’s going to college early. She moves to the town of Morganville and realizes just a little too late that it’s full of vampires and she’s not going to be able to leave. This series has some great characters and great storylines. Still, it’s a long series, so don’t feel like you have to read¬†every book to enjoy it. Start with Glass Houses and enjoy a spooky and fun book.

About Brandy

Brandy Bruce is a Bookvana award-winning author, editor, wife, mother, and someone who really loves dessert. She has a BA in English from Liberty University. She currently works as a freelance editor--reading, writing, editing, and making good use of online dictionaries. She's married to Jeff and has three beautiful children.

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: The Thing about Vampires… « Ralphie¬īs Portal

  2. Pingback: Why do I find vampires so delicious? « …At Your Fingertips

Leave a Reply

