RSS Feed

Summer Nights

Posted on

Hello people! How’s your summer going? Well, mine’s been hot so far. Hot like in the nineties. Unfortunately, I don’t have any great reads to update you on. I’m waiting on Wither from the library–which I’m so excited to read, btw! If you’ve got suggestions for what I should read next, please let me know! My sister Laura’s in town so we’ve been busy having fun with her. We all went to the fireworks show in Lonetree the other night, which was super cool until they cut it short when the firework stuff caught on fire and we had to evacuate. The other night we went to the carnival in town. I haven’t been to a carnival in forever, and I absolutely love going to carnivals and eating cotton candy. So that was fun. Except that we stood terrified while Ashtyn rode a tiny ride by herself, and at the end, when Laura ran to get her, she realized that little Ashtyn had unbuckled her seatbelt and was seatbelt-less!

Work continues to be very busy for me and I can hardly believe that I’ll be taking maternity leave in just 7 weeks. Crazy! There’s so much to do before then! Anyway, to boost my spirits, yesterday a woman at Walgreens told me that I look like I could have this baby any minute. Fabulous. Really. Just let me spiral into depression for a moment.

Okay. So, I’ve been meaning to tell you about some interesting things I’ve seen this summer. One: a man riding a stationary bike in downtown Castle Rock, CO. I was driving through and had to do a double take. Yes, that man is riding his bike and going nowhere. And he even has a dog with him! If you have a stationary bike, shouldn’t you be riding it inside in the air condition, rather than dragging it out next to the street? Hmm. Two: I went to get my hair cut and the man in front of me in line is sitting down to have his hair cut, but he doesn’t really have any hair. The girl chats away and buzzes off what’s there, I suppose, but in the end, I’m thinking, Are you actually charging him? For cutting hair that’s not there? Hmm.

So what hilarious things have you seen this summer? 🙂 I’m trying to talk Laura into writing a guest post for me soon, so stay tuned. And also, all you Harry Potter fanatics out there (who are dear to my heart!), can you believe the last movie is coming out in just days? I’m so excited. I can’t wait! I’ll be writing up a post afterward to talk all about the movie so stop back by.

About Brandy

Brandy Bruce is an author, editor, wife, mother, and someone who really loves dessert. She has a BA in English from Liberty University. She currently works as a freelance editor--reading, writing, editing, and making good use of online dictionaries. She's married to Jeff and has three beautiful children.

2 responses »

  1. OMG, I lived in Castle Rock, CO for four years!!!! Right behind the big walmart (could see the roof from my backyard). What a small world.

    Now, out here in the desert, it’s super hot. We hit 119 the other day, some parts of the state hitting 120. Crazy hot. I don’t mind, though…as long as the A/C is working, right?

    Wave to the Castle Rock for me, k? 🙂

    Reply
  2. Beth McCully

    Well, I HAVE TO suggest you read my book: Starting Over…AGAIN, subtitled, A Journal of Life’s Transitions. It’s a pretty quick read because of the journal format and it has a happy ending!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

