RSS Feed

Summer Reading and More Thoughts

Posted on

So, I just finished reading Enclave by Ann Aguirre. Sara introduced this one to me and I really liked it. It reminded me of the Hunger Games (think postapocalyptic/ futuristic). There was lots of action and intensity. Very cool. I really liked the main girl (Deuce) and the main guy (Fade). The author sort of builds their relationship gradually. But the next one in the series doesn’t come out till fall of next year, so that’s quite a wait. Still, I highly recommend this one for fans of the Hunger Games.

Also on the summer reading list for me–I just finished Mine is the Night by Liz Curtis Higgs. If you didn’t know, this is the sequel to Here Burns My Candle. Can I just tell you that I think Liz Curtis Higgs is a brilliant writer? She’s amazing. She must do tons of research for her historical fiction. Anyway, the book was fantastic and had a very satisfying ending. I really, really liked it. A beautifully written story.

I’m about halfway finished with Radical by David Platt. That one is nonfiction and sort of a wake-up call to the church. So far I’ve found it really convicting. The author is obviously very passionate about his beliefs and makes a good case for why things need to change. I feel like I’m coming to this book right after reading Love Wins, which has such a different tone and message. It’s a little jarring to me, to be honest. But I think both have a lot that can spark discussion and incite some self-reflection and challenge people.

All right, just FYI, as I’m typing this, this little baby inside of me is kicking up a storm! For those of you who may not know, we’re having a boy this time around. During our recent trip to VA, I spent some time with my college roommate. She’s got two little boys who were running around with superman capes on, and Ashtyn ended up playing with a really cool bat-cave kind of dollhouse (that’s the only way I know to describe it!). I kept thinking, Wow, Jeff and I are about to be in for a whole new experience. Should be fun. 🙂

About Brandy

Brandy Bruce is a Bookvana award-winning author, editor, wife, mother, and someone who really loves dessert. She has a BA in English from Liberty University. She currently works as a freelance editor--reading, writing, editing, and making good use of online dictionaries. She's married to Jeff and has three beautiful children.

Leave a Reply

