RSS Feed

A Little Something About Books and News of Guest Post

Posted on

So I thought I’d do a little update on reading for the summer. I mentioned in my last post that I’d just finished reading If I Stay by Gayle Forman. I really enjoyed this book. The only thing I had mixed feeling about was the parents. The main character’s parents are super cool (in mostly good ways) and they have established this great family unit where even this teenage daughter of theirs wants to spend time together as a family.  But even though the parents are great, loving, supportive, fun, observant–they’re also A-OK with their teenage daughter sleeping with her boyfriend. I know there are probably lots of parents out there who are like this (though I personally don’t know any!). But to me, it just felt confusing. At some point, parents have to be parents (not friends). However, this one aspect of the novel wasn’t a huge deal in the story and while I found it disappointing that there wasn’t any advice about this for the girl (like why it might be a good idea to wait till you’re just a little older and how it can change relationships and teen pregnancy is actually a very serious problem and yada yada yada), I felt like the main character was definitely mature for her age and the author didn’t spend chapter after chapter promoting teen sex (for which I’m grateful. That kills a YA book for me). Overall, what I loved about this story were the heartfelt moments, of which there are many. The main character is trying to decide if she wants to stay or “go on” (die), and the conversations her best friend, grandfather, and boyfriend all have with her (more like to her) while she’s in a coma are just so real and powerful. I mentioned before that it’s a cry-worthy book but not a depressing book. I really think that’s an incredible accomplishment by Gayle Forman. To make this book filled with such sad things, but then to offer the right balance of hope and humor–well, she did a great job. I can’t wait to read the next book in the series.

On to the next. I just finished Fang by James Patterson. This was a Mother’s Day gift to me from Jeff, however, it was also the 3rd book in a series I’d never heard of before. I went ahead and read it and really liked it. I haven’t really read any books about mutants before, but it’s not that different from vampires or werewolves or other books about teens who have special powers. I would recommend starting at the beginning of the series though.

Today I’m picking up Matched by Ally Condie from the library. I’m super excited to read this one. It’s been on my list of “must reads” for a while. The cover is great but I’ll have to get back to you about content. I also want to read Heaven is For Real. Have you heard about this book? I’ve heard really good things about it, and I need to check it out soon.

And here is some exciting news! I wrote a guest post for Joy Tamsin David’s blog “Edgy Inspirational Fiction.” (I just love her blog!)  The guest post was posted today so be sure to stop on over and check out the discussion. You’ll love Joy’s blog! It’s perfect for book-lovers.

 

About Brandy

Brandy Bruce is a Bookvana award-winning author, editor, wife, mother, and someone who really loves dessert. She has a BA in English from Liberty University. She currently works as a freelance editor--reading, writing, editing, and making good use of online dictionaries. She's married to Jeff and has three beautiful children.

Leave a Reply

