RSS Feed

Moving

Posted on

Well, we started packing yesterday. I was reminded of the fact that packing isn’t fun, and not only that, I’m not very good at it. I feel like Jeff wants to repack the boxes I pack. This is not an unfamiliar feeling. I sometimes feel like Jeff wants to reclean things I clean, and he wants to reorganize the dishwasher after I’ve filled it. Luckily for me, we’re in that good place in our relationship where he knows not to do these things, or just to offer to do them first. 🙂 After being married 8 years, we’ve got all those little things down pat. I really am thankful to be in such a healthy relationship. And to be married to such a good guy. Anyway, back to moving. So, yep, we’re moving. We plan to be out of this house and into our next one in a month (hopefully!). Here’s something kind of weird though, we’re moving to a house that’s very near our old house. I don’t know why that’s weird to me, it just is. You know, like going back to an old job–I think you can get the feeling that you’re going back instead of forward. Jeff says that’s ridiculous and to please not say it. And he’s right, I know. We’re not going backward. It just feels weird, driving home will be so familiar. To be honest, I like change. I like living in different places. I like the chance to start fresh, to feel the hope of being somewhere new. And this house we’re moving to is new to us, and I’m already losing sleep at night thinking of how I will decorate the dining room and Ashtyn’s room.  

But have you ever had that feeling of going back instead of forward? Maybe it’s in your relationship status or non-status, or in your career, or in something like having to move back in with Mom and Dad when you thought that was behind you? I think this can be a difficult feeling to work with. For me, enough has changed that moving back to the same neighborhood isn’t really a big deal. In fact, at this point, I am really looking forward to it. We’ve got friends there that I’ve missed and who I totally want to be involved with. And for me, just living in a new place is a good thing. But I do understand those feelings people have of going backward sometimes, instead of forward. We want to be moving forward in life. Sometimes I think about where Jeff and I are, and I wonder, was this what I expected for us at this place in our lives? Was this where I thought we would be? You know those goals you make early on? Your 5-year, 10-year, or 15-year goals? I think those are healthy. I like goals. But life doesn’t unfold like a perfectly folded map. Things happen you can’t expect. Life takes turns and twists and even U-turns that you don’t expect. And that’s part of the adventure.

I like adventure. And it can feel out of your reach when your life is busy with a job and a family and a toddler who needs so much of your attention–not to mention being pregnant can make you feel like you will never go on another adventure that doesn’t include diaper bags and pacifiers. When I start to feel this way, Jeff is so good about reminding me that we will have awesome family adventures as our kids grow up. I’m excited for that.

One of the things that I’ve really tried hard to do in my own life is to practice contentment. I think it makes all the difference in living a happy life versus an unhappy life. The other day Jeff was starting to list all these things that we should be doing or need to start doing–and I stopped him. I told him that piling lists like that on ourselves invites a whole lot of guilt. There are things we may need to change or do differently. But overall, what we need to do is love and take care of each other. And that’s already our main priority. And I could just hear his voice relax as he said, “You know, you’re right.” Adding pressure doesn’t help. So, if you’ve ever felt like you’ve gone backward instead of forward in life–you’re not alone. And it’s okay. God’s got a plan for all of us, and sometimes I think it includes U-turns.

About Brandy

Brandy Bruce is a Bookvana award-winning author, editor, wife, mother, and someone who really loves dessert. She has a BA in English from Liberty University. She currently works as a freelance editor--reading, writing, editing, and making good use of online dictionaries. She's married to Jeff and has three beautiful children.

8 responses »

  1. So funny you should write this. Three years ago, I moved back to my hometown to be near my parents after living “out of town” for over 25 years. In two weeks, we’ll actually move into a house directly across the street from where I grew up. I’ll turn 50 in a house across the street from the home I grew up in. It is weird. I spent years raising my hand at every missions opportunity trying to escape my birthplace and God called me to serve Him in RI and NOW back in my very hometown. I know it’s all from Him and it will be a new chapter in the adventure we’ve shared but it’s definitely a forward/backward move.

    Reply
  2. Best wishes on this move, hon!

    I know what you mean entirely. Recently I moved back to my home town – the next driveway over from my parents, to be exact. . . on my own again. . . at least until late July when I will be moving somewhere with my husband once he finishes his PhD. And yes, this felt like a backwards move. Then again. . . it was the only option available. So you just gotta’ do what you gotta’ do, right?

    Ladaisi Blog

    Reply
  3. I am just thrilled we will be neighbors again! .. I still feel like I can smell your cheese cake every time I drive thro’ that street and the nice memories ( days before kids!) we could swing by and hangout forever! I am excited for you 4….can’t wait!

    Reply
  4. I understand your feeling about your hubby wanting to do over some of the things you do. I’m married to Mr Clean. After eight years I know that it’s not worth the bother to do some things. I just let him do it. One of the biggies for him is making the bed. I just want to get it done and he wants to get the sheets, etc all lined up perfectly. We both know that he’s better at some things, so they’ve gradually become his job/territory. lol

    Thanks for the link to my review of Looks Like Love.

    Reply
    • Hi Nancy! My husband likes the sheets and covers perfectly straight all the time, even while we sleep! I sleep like an octopus, all over the place. In the mornings the sheets are everywhere and half the comforter will be on the floor. It drives him crazy. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

