RSS Feed

Table for one, please.

Posted on

So, today I took myself out for lunch. It was actually kind of an accident–I was mixed up about the time and realized I had 45 minutes to kill before I needed to pick up Ashtyn. So I hopped over to Chili’s for chips and salsa and broccoli & cheese soup and salad. It was a little weird, to be honest, asking for a “Table for one, please.” Luckily, I had a book with me to read. And you know something? Sometimes, a little alone time is just what I need. While I was reading, I came across this quote: “Everywhere I have sought rest and not found it, except sitting in a corner by myself with a book” (Thomas a Kempis). That can be so true. Restful time for me is often time spent alone with a book. Sometimes we have to steal moments of rest wherever we can.

To be honest, I’ve been busy lately. Really busy. Work time, over time, writers conference, a tiring toddler, a house that never seems to stay in order, the thought of knowing we’re moving soon looming over my head, birthday gifts to mail out, cards to send, holiday surprises to think of, friends to catch up with. Of course, as anyone will tell you, these things never really go away. But I’ve found some times in life to be a bit busier than others. And honestly, I’ve been in the middle of one of those times. I’m still there, actually. 

And today having lunch by myself–well, it was nice. Not something I’d want to do all the time. But sometimes we need quiet. Not other people talking to us. Not us talking to other people. Just quiet. I wasn’t reflecting on life. I wasn’t praying or meditating. I was just reading, skimming, at that. And having time alone. I’m one of those people who needs that sometimes. You know those times where you take an extra-long shower just so you can be by yourself? Or you retreat to your room a little early, just to journal or something like that? Well, I was reminded today of how important those moments are for us. Maybe you need some time alone. Early morning, late at night, fifteen minutes in the afternoon–whatever you can find. But I really recommend taking even a few minutes where you can just have quiet and rest. We need that amid our busy lives. 

I’m a wife, a mother, a sister, a daughter, a book editor, a friend, a writer, a Christian–I’m all those things. But at the heart of it all, I’m just Brandy. And when life gets a little crazy, I’m going to remember to find a table for one. And hopefully, some really delicious soup while I’m at it.

About Brandy

Brandy Bruce is an author, editor, wife, mother, and someone who really loves dessert. She has a BA in English from Liberty University. She currently works as a freelance editor--reading, writing, editing, and making good use of online dictionaries. She's married to Jeff and has three beautiful children.

Leave a Reply

