RSS Feed

Parties and Priorities

Posted on

Well, don’t you just love parties at Christmas? Good times, I know. So Saturday night, Sara and I had a little shin-dig at her apartment.  Everything looked beautiful and the night was so much fun. Lots of good conversation. And I was thinking that this was one of those moments where I so appreciated the fact that Sara and Nemo live out here now. We were talking about the fact that we haven’t lived near each other since I left Lynchburg (like six years ago). I’m one of those people who really loves to be with my family. Despite this fact, I haven’t been able to live near most of them for a long time. Now that I have Ashtyn, if I even think about what it could be like when she’s grown and lives far from me, I feel sad–and hopeful that she’ll live near me and Jeff. In some cultures it’s still very normal for families to all live super close to each other. I don’t think that happens all that often now in the US. Families are spread out. You don’t see each other as much. I think of my childhood–for years and years I was with my mom and dad and Sara and Laura every day. While that’s happening, you don’t think about the fact that it won’t always be that way (except when there’s drama or teen angst and you want to leave! 🙂 ) But change is one of those rare things that’s constant in people’s lives. It makes you consider what’s important to you. I think holidays make you even more aware of this kind of thing. The beginning of a fresh year always seems to be a good time to reexamine your priorities. Last night at the party, we went around the room and all us girls shared one goal we have for our future. It made me think about what I’m doing right now to pursue my goals or dreams. Or what I might need to change in the coming year. This year brought changes–good ones, like Sara moving closer. Next year will bring more change; we’ll be moving in early spring and such. And Ashtyn changes so much from one month to the next. I can’t imagine what she’ll be like a year from now. Change really is a constant. Whether we want it to be or not. But then there are other things we can count on too. Like the fact that Christmas will roll around every December 25th. Next year at this time, I’ll probably be reflecting on all the amazing things we experienced in 2011 and what goals I want to set for the next year. It’s the way it goes, I guess. I know one thing, I want to prioritize my family in 2011. I want to pursue dreams and goals. In the next few weeks, I want to put together a reading list for next year.

So tell me, what goals do you want to set for next year? What’s something on your “resolution list”? Did you fulfill a goal this year that you’ve been thinking of for a long time?

About Brandy

Brandy Bruce is an author, editor, wife, mother, and someone who really loves dessert. She has a BA in English from Liberty University. She currently works as a freelance editor--reading, writing, editing, and making good use of online dictionaries. She's married to Jeff and has three beautiful children.

4 responses »

  1. Happy Christmas to you and yours!

    I did finally fulfill one goal I’ve had for quite some time – I finished my degree! It was long overdue.

    Would you mind sharing your reading list for next year once you’ve finished making it? I’m always looking for new books to read.

    – Lauren

    Ladaisi Blog

    Reply
  2. My goal for 2011 is to graduate and start college! What a scary thought. I also plan to travel in the summer and make the most of everydayyy : ) and skype more with youuuu!:)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

