RSS Feed

Book review: Spirit Bound by Richelle Mead

Posted on

Here’s the deal: I really do appreciate when authors write in such a way that you just have no idea how things are going to end up. I get frustrated when I know from a couple of chapters in just how everything will go. Richelle Mead doesn’t ever disappoint me in this sense. Even when I suddenly think she’s going to do something typical–she surprises me. I’ve loved this series since book 1. But I will admit that I’ve started to get a little annoyed with Rose lately. (*spoilers from this point on)

Her obsession with Dimitri isn’t as annoying as Bella’s obsession with Edward (thankfully!), but it’s becoming all-consuming and that can be tiresome. What I do like about Rose is her loyalty to Lissa, her courage, her passion–what I’m not crazy about is her single-mindedness, her obsession with Dimitri and willingness to hurt Adrian when it suits her, and her self-absorbedness. Her loyalty to Lissa helps knock down her self-absorbedness at times, which is a good thing. I love Lissa’s and Christian’s characters.

So now we’re finished with Spirit Bound and I’m happy to say that I have no idea if Rose will end up with Adrian or Dimitri. Honestly, at this point I’m a little tired of Dimitri and I’m pulling for Adrian. But it reminds me of Hunger Games, when I couldn’t decide between Peeta and Gale. Anyway, I can say that this series totally inspires me for the book that Sara and I are working on. We’re just about finished. In fact, I think we’ll have a solid first draft by the end of January. That’s exciting. Soon after that, I hope, we’ll post a chapter or two for people to read and to get some feedback. 🙂

Hope everyone out there is enjoying the splendid holiday season!

About Brandy

Brandy Bruce is a Bookvana award-winning author, editor, wife, mother, and someone who really loves dessert. She has a BA in English from Liberty University. She currently works as a freelance editor--reading, writing, editing, and making good use of online dictionaries. She's married to Jeff and has three beautiful children.

3 responses »

  1. Looks fairly interesting .. last books i read were, Girl with a Dragon Tattoo & the Girl who played with Fire – by the same author. they are different.

    Reply
  2. I wanted to thank you for this great read!! I definitely enjoying every little bit of it I have you bookmarked to check out new stuff you post.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

