RSS Feed

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 1–the review

Posted on

So, if you know me at all, you know that hours before midnight Thursday evening, I was standing outside in the chilly Colorado weather, waiting for Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows. (I still can’t believe they made us wait outside.) This is the first time that I got to go to the midnight showing with my fabulous sister Sara and her husband and it was great fun. We brought chairs, I brought an enormous comforter, Sara had her laptop, I had a bag full of candy (I do mean full). Eventually, Nemo went back to the car to warm up while Sara and I bundled under the huge blanket. We were smack-dab next to the college central corner. There were about four guys sitting in the corner and they had visitors every second. In front of them was another college girl in a pink sweatshirt and her boyfriend, who were super nice. (More on them in a second.) A ways down near the front of the line there was an actual tent set up. I’m serious! There were people sitting in a small, round tent!  We’d been told we would be let in the building fifteen minutes before we could be seated. About an hour before, we were starting to think about putting our campground of stuff in the car. Sara decided to go get Nemo (her phone had died and he was charging it in the car). So she takes off and I’m there alone with the three chairs, laptop, bags of candy, and the comforter. All is well until suddenly people are shifting and yelling that they’re letting us in. What? I jump up (imagine a doe-in-the-headlights look on my stricken face). I’m in line with hundreds of people behind me. I frantically look to see if Sara’s coming. She’s nowhere to be found. I panic and grab a chair. Then I try to hold the comforter, which is so large that it needs to be carried alone. I drop it in a chair and grab the bags and the laptop. I pull one chair a little ways and stop. It’s hopeless. Like I said, I have a campground of things. I finally see Sara as the mob starts going past me. Imagine a hysterical woman jumping up and down and waving her arms. Now imagine her beautiful sister and her husband, leisurely walking across the parking lot, laughing together arm-in-arm, while other sister is having a meltdown. Suddenly, the girl from earlier in the pink sweatshirt is by me. “What are you doing back here?” she yells. I tell her my situation as the line continues to pass us up. “Give me one of those chairs,” she orders seriously. (Trust me, when you’ve been waiting in the cold for hours, this is a serious situation.) She grabs a chair and takes off back to her spot. Then her boyfriend shows up. “Give me your stuff,” he demands and takes off with another chair and the blanket. Once Sara gets close enough for me to shout out our situation, her face changes to one of militant seriousness. We pile everything in Nemo’s arms and take off to our spot where the pink-sweatshirt girl is saving a place for us. Whew. I am exhausted just recounting it to you.

Movie finally begins. *Be forewarned that there are spoilers from this point on. Overall, I loved it. I really did. That’s not to say I didn’t have a couple of issues with it. I mean, seriously? Harry and Hermione embracing–um, where were their clothes? Totally over the top and ridiculous. They went overboard with that scene.  And it wasn’t true to the book. Nowhere in the book does it say that their clothes were suddenly missing. Okay, moving on. I wish they’d upped the intensity on the cellar scene. Ollivander’s supposed to have been badly tortured. The goblin is near-death. They all look fine. Just hanging out in the cellar in the dark. Ron’s supposed to be crying from hearing Hermione scream. Both he and Harry are supposed to be frantic. I wish they’d stayed closer to the tone of the book. That scene needed to be cry-worthy. One more issue: in the book, when Ron saves Harry’s life, Harry has this moment where he tells him clearly that he doesn’t feel that way about Hermione. They’re just friends. It’s a clear, honest moment between friends. Then they simultaneously walk to each other and hug. Why couldn’t they have kept that in there? After seeing Harry and Hermione–you know, clothes-less–I think some dialog was in order. Plus, in the book that moment is just so touching, a reminder of the depth of their friendship. Totally absent from the film. There’s the made-up moment of Harry and Hermione dancing–really? Why are they wasting time on stuff that wasn’t in the book? We don’t need to see Harry and Hermione dancing.

What I did like: the seven Harry’s scene was awesome. Both hilarious and intense. The wedding was great and everything that happened right after. Breaking into the Ministry was really well-done. The snake and everything in Godric’s Hollow. So, I really did enjoy the movie. It’s just so fun to be back in that world and see those characters. But there were some disappointments. They left on a good cliff-hanger moment. I can’t wait for the next one!

About Brandy

Brandy Bruce is a Bookvana award-winning author, editor, wife, mother, and someone who really loves dessert. She has a BA in English from Liberty University. She currently works as a freelance editor--reading, writing, editing, and making good use of online dictionaries. She's married to Jeff and has three beautiful children.

12 responses »

  1. im so glad you liked it! : ) ill have to see it with yall if i make it up there for christmas.

    Reply
  2. VERY entertaining story! I HATE saving spots. I would not have held it together as well as you did as you sister came through the parking lot. Most funny.

    Reply
  3. I went in and saw it today with my 14 yr old…The Harry and Hermione part was super uncomfortable, my daughter leaned over and said ok thats super weird….LOL…but otherwise I thought it was pretty good.

    Reply
  4. I hated one thing though.. where’s the cloak? The movie is about the Hallows and the most important one throughout the storyline isn’t in the movie.

    Reply
  5. I too missed the cloak! And you’re absolutely right about the missing clothes scene. Um…what? Other than that, I loved the movie. And seeing all the costumed characters standing in line? Priceless. 🙂

    Reply
  6. We live in a small town…opening night, hardly any line. Got AWESOME seats without any fuss. LOL. Loved the movie.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

