RSS Feed

Author Interview with Lynn Rush!

Posted on

Lynn Rush began her writing career in 2008, since then producing eighteen paranormal romance novels. She is actively involved with Romance Writers of America (RWA) and its special interest chapter Fantasy, Futuristic and Paranormal (FF&P). Lynn has both an undergraduate and graduate degree in the mental health field. When Lynn’s not writing, she spends time enjoying the Arizona sunshine by road biking with her husband of fourteen years and going on five-mile jogs with her loveable Shetland Sheep dogs.


BB: When did you discover you were a writer? Are you someone who’s scribbled away all your life? Or did a moment come where you just suddenly had a story in your head?

LR: Wait, I’m a writer? Really? *smile* It’s still weird to call myself a writer or hear someone call me that. But I am, and I’d say that realization came to me when I signed with an agent. I had to smile at the second part of this question, because I get asked that a lot. And ironically the answer is no. I never spent time scribbling down stories as a child. Writing was never a passion of mine, nor had I ever aspired to be a writer. It just kind of found me one day when a story popped into my head. I’m glad it did, too, because I really enjoy this journey.

My stories usually pop into my head at random times. It could be while having lunch with a friend, waking up from a dream-filled sleep, or while on a long run or bike ride. Like once, I was up in Sedona, AZ, for a “write-fest” with my good friend, KM Wilsher, and I said, “I’m not sure what I’m gonna write this weekend, so I’m going for a run and see if anything comes to me.”
About three miles into the run, I was sucking-dust up this steep hill and an idea hit.

I ended that weekend with nearly 30,000 words on Tainted Cadence.

BB: What genre do you write and why?

LR: Paranormal Romance is my genre of choice. I write to the twenty-something crowd. I’ve heard it termed New Adult and that’s pretty accurate. I’ve got a couple of novels that are for those who are a little bit younger (Frostbite and Light of Truth)—like maybe 16 and older, but for the most part, my target audience is the twenty-something crowd.

I love writing paranormal because it just intrigues me. I’ve always been into the crazy TV shows like Charmed, Heroes, Buffy, Angel, Dark Angel . . . So I’m not surprised my writing went that direction at all. And I love romance, so it came together just fine.

BB: What’s your writing process? Outline first? Ending first? Surprised as you go?

LR: Oh, wow, ending first? Do writer’s write endings first? I never would have guessed. But then again, I’m still pretty new to this writing-gig. I’ve only been seriously writing since 2008, so I learn every day.

My process is totally Seat Of The Pants (SOTP). I get such a rush sitting at my computer, staring at a blank screen, and have only the beginnings of an idea in my head to get me started.

I mean, I woke up one morning with a sentence on my mind. I wrote it down, and it morphed into Frostbite. I just finished the third book in that series a couple of months ago.

The only kind of planning, if you can call it that, I do is a quick mind map. It’s just a box with the character’s name (if I know it) in the middle, then a bunch of random thoughts/ideas/concepts flowing out from it. Other than that—I just sit and write.

BB: Name a few authors who’ve inspired you. What was it about their writing that moved you? Do you have any “favorite” books you read over and over?

LR: Frank Peretti was the first one to inspire me. I read his book, This Present Darkness, back in 2007 and loved the story. Piercing The Darkness was awesome, too. I loved how he described the various demons and how they toyed with humans. Absolutely loved it.

I’ve read the Twilight books over and over, and I’ve read a few of the Charlaine Harris’ Sookie novels multiple times. Bill Myers, too.
If I find a part in a book, I’ll go back and read it a few times, just to be reminded how well they wrote it. I try to learn a little from each book I read.

BB: Talk a little about your publishing experience. Did you get an agent first? Was that difficult?

LR: Publishing. . . well, in January 2010, I’d won a contest from which Violet Midnight was going to get published. I got my book cover (it was totally sweet, too), finished my first round of edits, but then the publisher closed its doors.

No more Violet Midnight in print.

My agent, Cari Foulk, from Tribe Literary Agency, has been shopping a few of my books around. Several publishers have shown some interest, but it’s early in that process.

In the mean time, I’ll keep on writing while I’m waiting. As far as finding an agent . . . it took a while, mostly because I started querying before I should have. *blush* I didn’t know what the heck I was doing all of 2008 and the first part of 2009, but after I got some experience under my belt, I went to a couple of conferences and took some classes to learn the craft, then I started querying again. It took me about a year to sign with an agent. So, press on, my writing friends!

BB: How important is faith in your novels?

LR: My faith is a part of everything I do. It’s the base of who I am, and my stories have a unique flavor as a result. I say unique because when writing paranormal romance, people expect a lot of—well—romance. So, I get to be really creative when it comes to that . . . But you’ll have to wait to read my books to see what I mean.

BB: What’s a “must know” about you?

LR: Besides how much I love to write? *smile* Everyone knows I love to exercise. My Facebook status updates are often about running and/or bike riding. It’s where I think, pray, and relax.

Funny story . . . I had a pitch session with an agent at a conference a long time ago, and when I sat down to start, she asked, “So, did you bike here from Phoenix?”

So, yeah . . . I do a lot of posting about my exercise. LOL.

BB: What are you working on now?

LR: I recently finished up writing Soul Saver and am working on editing my latest project. It’s so new I don’t even have a title yet. I stink at thinking up titles, so it’s usually the last thing I get done—and usually with a lot of help from my Blog followers and crit partners.

But NaNoWriMo starts November 1st, so I’m hoping to write the third book about Emma & Jake (Violet Midnight is the first book.) We’ll see what happens with that, though, because I’m a SOTP writer . . . you never know what I’ll wake up wanting to write on November 1st!

Catch the Rushhttp://lynnrush.wordpress.com/

FaceBookhttp://www.facebook.com/LynnRushWrites

Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/LynnRush

About Brandy

Brandy Bruce is a Bookvana award-winning author, editor, wife, mother, and someone who really loves dessert. She has a BA in English from Liberty University. She currently works as a freelance editor--reading, writing, editing, and making good use of online dictionaries. She's married to Jeff and has three beautiful children.

14 responses »

  1. Thanks for having me here, Brandy! This was great fun.

    Reply
  2. Hey Lynn! I’m one of those writers that write the end early in the game. I’m a seat of the pants person too, but about 4-5 chapters in, the end comes to me- I then write that part and maybe the second to the last chapter after that and then I weave it all together with the middle- yep, it’s weird but it works for me.

    We need to buddy up on NaNoWriMo. Jillian

    Reply
    • Really?? You write the ending when you think of it? I’ve never met someone who did that. LOL. But hey, writers have to write in their own way, youknow?

      Yeah, let’s buddy up: LynnRush is my tag on NaNo

      Reply
  3. Somebody needs to explain NaNoWriMO to me?? What is it?

    Reply
  4. I really liked this interview. Thank-you!

    Reply
  5. 18 novels! I bow at your feet. I hadn’t heard about the publisher closing its doors, though. Major bummer! When I saw your tweet about the interview, I thought, “Excellent! Now I can finally ask when her book is coming out!” It sounds like you have a great agent and I have no doubt you’ll find a home for your books soon! Query me sometime! Maybe one can find a home with my press 🙂

    P.S. I always know the ending when I sit down to write, even if I know nothing else about my book. Last year’s NaNo? Sat down planning to write one book, thought up an ending to a totally different book and wrote that one instead!

    Best of luck on your journey!

    Reply
    • HI, Heather! Thanks, you’re so sweet. LOL on the NaNo thing. That totally sounds like me. Seriously. I finished one book and decided, “Okay, I’m gonna go back and edit it.” But the next morning, I woke up with the first line of a new book… so that one had to be written first. Crazy how that works, huh?

      Thanks for swinging by, Heather!

      Reply
  6. Nice interview, Lynn. You never cease to amaze me.

    Reply
  7. Great interview, Lynn. You are always upbeat and positive. Not to mention you write killer stories! Press on and keep writing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

