RSS Feed

Blog Tour! Lydia’s Charm by Wanda Brunstetter

Posted on

In Lydia’s Charm, widowed and jobless, Lydia King moves her son and herself to Charm, Ohio, to be close to her mother and help with her grandfather. Menno Troyer, a furniture store owner, is also recently widowed and the father of four energetic boys.

Levi Stutzman, another newcomer to the area, is the only one in his family not handicapped by dwarfism and has dedicated his life to caring for them. As fall colors the countryside, will anonymous gifts left for Lydia bring her hope for a new life and romance, or will another tragedy flood her with infinite despair?

I enjoyed this book. I’d definitely call it a “light read.” Very easy, fast reading and an uncomplicated plot. Some of it was rather predictable, but I definitely thought there were some aspects that were unique. I liked the characters. The Frogmore Stew was an interesting dish to hear about! It ended well, though some of the plot was a little depressing. Overall, an easy read.

About Brandy

Brandy Bruce is an author, editor, wife, mother, and someone who really loves dessert. She has a BA in English from Liberty University. She currently works as a freelance editor--reading, writing, editing, and making good use of online dictionaries. She's married to Jeff and has three beautiful children.

4 responses »

  1. Hey! Stumbled across your blog via SeededBuzz. I haven’t actually read this book, but your blog got me wondering if you might be part of an online book club? I’ve thought about joining one but never have – all of my book clubs have been in person thus far.

    Currently I’m reading Captivating by John and Stasi Eldredge – which is a totally amazing devotional/motivational type book for women. Also I’m reading Robin McKinley’s Sunshine – a more realistic, less romantic vampire type book (thought I’d see what all the hype was about). Her book Beauty (retelling of Beauty and the Beast) was much better – it’s in my top ten.

    Love to hear more about the books you read!

    Reply
    • Hi Lauren! I’m part of the Christian Fiction Blog Alliance. You can check out the website (link/widget in my sidebar). I’m also a member of FIRST–another group that does blog tours. It’s a great way to get free books and find out what’s new in Christian fiction. I love it! The Book Club Network is another online book group that I just joined.

      I haven’t read anything by Robin McKinley, but she definitely sounds interesting so I will check her out! Thanks for stopping by!

      Reply
  2. I quite liked “Lydia’s Charm”, Wanda Brunstetter is a wonderful author.

    The characters were fairly in-depth and likeable for the most part. The one character I might have liked to see a bit more was the grossvadder and the potential for an interesting relationship between him and Josh.

    I just posted a review of this on my own site at http://www.tracysbooknook.com.

    -Tracy

    Reply

Leave a Reply

