RSS Feed

Candy Apples

Posted on

Here’s the thing about candy apples, they’re delicious (especially covered in chocolate), but they’re apples…come on! They’re fruit! They’re healthy, sort of. They have to have a vitamin in there somewhere.

Jeff got one of those special chocolate-covered candy apples last week as a gift. And he shared it with me. So delicious. You know what it reminded me of? A Berenstain Bear book from when I was a child called Trick or Treat. Did you ever read the Berenstain Bear books? I loved them. My mom would take us to the bookstore and we’d buy a new book, and it would be a special treat. I can’t remember when it was that we stopped buying the latest Berenstain Bear book, but I know I’ll love pulling them out and sharing them with Ashtyn. Books have always been a huge part of my life. Going to the bookstore has always been a delight for me. I recently read an interesting blog about adjusting to the onslaught of e-readers and that sort of thing. You should check it out at The Comfort of a Good Book.  

Anyway, I love that certain books are perfect for certain occasions. Like reading Trick or Treat around Halloween. Or reading The Night Before Christmas as soon as it’s December. I can think of so many books I like to read according to seasons. And finding special books for special seasons is just one way to celebrate the seasons with your child. Making candy apples and reading a book about Halloween or Thanksgiving or just fall in general–that experience can create a special memory in children. It did for me.

About Brandy

Brandy Bruce is an author, editor, wife, mother, and someone who really loves dessert. She has a BA in English from Liberty University. She currently works as a freelance editor--reading, writing, editing, and making good use of online dictionaries. She's married to Jeff and has three beautiful children.

8 responses »

  1. Caramel apples remind me of fall. Man they stick to the teeth and are really messy, but once a year…it’s totally worth it!!!

    Love them!

    Reply
  2. Absolutely! Now I’m craving another one!

    Reply
  3. Brandy, You are so right! Seasonal books are very special. I have read Katie my copy (yes, it is almost an antique now) of “The Bearnstein Bears Trick or Treat” at least 200 times over the past month. Then we will move onto “Being Thankful” and then the stack of Christmas favorites! We miss you all!

    Reply
  4. Here’s what I want to know: how do you get Ashtyn to sit still while you read? Maybe it is an age thing, but Emma will sit just long enough to point at the pictures and then she’s done. She is not interested in hearing me read to her at all yet. I just wind up getting frustrated because I’m trying to create this moment that she is not interested in having 🙂 Advice?!!

    Reply
    • Ashtyn’s the same way! Honest! Reading with her right now is more of just quickly summarizing and looking at pictures! And protecting the pages from her eating them. But I can tell she loves books because she loves to run and grab them and bring them to us and say “Book!” I think it just takes a while for kids to be able to pay real attention to the story. So until then, I’m just saving up my library of picture books for when we can enjoy them together without eating them. 😉

      Reply
      • Okay good to know! I was just wondering how I am going to explain Christmas to her this year in a way she might understand (not Jesus as savior type explanation, but more like “why do we have this tree and presents” type explanation). I think I will look for a book!

  5. I’ve seen some of the most delicious looking chocolate covered apples lately! I don’t want to know the “nutritional” information on those babies!

    As for e-readers… I have kindle for my PC and it’s jam packed with books. I want to read them but love curling up with a “real” book!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

