RSS Feed

Interview with author Kelsey Greye

Posted on

When she wakes up on the morning of her twenty-seventh birthday, Charlotte Edwards has no idea how drastically her life is about to change. Soon everything she thought to be true will be challenged, her very life threatened, and she will be forced to make the most important decision of her life: Should she continue to conform to what is expected of her, or should she reach out and chase the dreams she has denied her entire life?

BB: Where did the inspiration for your book, The Pursuit of Miss Charlotte Edwards, come from?

KG: I actually started writing my book on a whim and a dare. It was one of those times in life when I was surrounded by people who just begged to be put into print and a good friend dared me to do just that.

BB: What’s your writing process like? Outline first? Ending first? Surprised as you go?

KG: I’m always surprised as I go, occasionally frustrated and constantly entertained. I like to let my characters do what they do and just kind of go along for the ride.

BB: Have you always wanted to be a writer?

KG: I did some creative writing in high school and then went directly to research and theological paper writing for college and seminary, which has been my focus for the past nine years or so. The Pursuit of Miss Charlotte Edwards was a combination of poking fun at people in general, loving history and letting loose my inner criminal for the mystery parts.

BB: Will you be writing a sequel? Was that planned from the beginning?

KG: I’m already working on the sequel, which focuses on a secondary character from the first novel. Mid-way through writing my first book, I realized that this character had a story of his own.

BB: Was self-publishing a positive experience for you?

KG: It’s been quite positive – no deadlines and final say on everything suit me down to the ground.

BB: What books are you currently reading?

KG: I’m about to re-read Dead Man’s Folly by Agatha Christie for fun and am up to my neck in research books on Anselm, an 11th century Archbishop of Canterbury.

BB: What’s an interesting fact about you?

KG: I love old musicals – anything with Doris Day, Gene Kelly, Jane Powell, Fred Astaire, Frank Sinatra – you name it, I love it!

Thanks so much, Kelsey! You can read the first chapter of her book here.

About Brandy

Brandy Bruce is a Bookvana award-winning author, editor, wife, mother, and someone who really loves dessert. She has a BA in English from Liberty University. She currently works as a freelance editor--reading, writing, editing, and making good use of online dictionaries. She's married to Jeff and has three beautiful children.

2 responses »

  1. Great interview. Thanks!!

    Reply
  2. I grew up with Kelsey when she and I were very little, I’d say around the age of 3, maybe 4. I enjoyed reading this interview to see how far she’s come. I’m very proud of her, maybe even a little jealous. ;P She has an amazing tallent when it comes to writting and her imagination is outstanding; mind boggling really!! I’m blown away…. blown away! She’ll go far in life with her writting! You’ll see her on The New York Times best sellers list one day… mark my word!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

