RSS Feed

Heroes and Other Things

Posted on


OK, so I’m kind of a sucker for a good hero. Batman, Iron Man, Robin Hood–you gotta love those guys. Last night Jeff and I finally rented the new Robin Hood movie. Let me first tell you about the love I have for the old Robin Hoodย (Kevin Costner). I think that movie came out when I was in high school, I can’t remember exactly when, but I do remember myself, and every other girl I was friends with, being basically obsessed with it. Remember the “Everything I do” song by Bryan Adams? Yeah. Obsessed. (You and me, Tammy. Good times ๐Ÿ™‚ ) It really was such a good movie. Alan Rickman was the perfect Sheriff of Nottingham. Kevin Costner was this absolutely fantastic Robin Hood (so good, in fact, that he didn’t even need to try for the British accent. ๐Ÿ˜‰ )

Not too long ago, Jeff and I discovered the British Robin Hood TV series. Again, I loved it. Though it was undoubtedly pretty cheesy. Still, how can you not love a Robin Hood who has super-cool hair and wears green hoodies even though it’s supposed to be medieval times? ๐Ÿ™‚ It didn’t hurt that Sir Guy was the same guy who plays Mr. Thornton in the BBC North and South film. If you’ve seen that movie, you know that saying Mr. Thornton is kinda like saying Mr. Darcy. But I digress.

Anyway, so I didn’t expect to really like this new version of Robin Hood. I’d heard it was different, and it came from an entirely new angle, and so on. Well, I really liked it! Russel Crowe was finally reminding me of his better days of Gladiator. I mean, he’s a great actor always. But remember how he looked in Gladiator? Exactly. And I really loved Marian in this movie. She rocked. I love when Russel Crowe turns around and just calls her “Wife” and she’s got a look on her face that says, “You’re awesome and you can call me whatever you want.” Sigh.

If you haven’t seen it, go rent it. It’s worth watching. Now I’m in the mood for the old Robin Hood. Remember when he says, “This is English courage”? So good.

Anyway, so my sister and brother-in-law were in town over the weekend. I miss them already. We took Ashtyn to the park where she ran like a wild child with Nemo having to chase her.

Well, I’m telling myself that today is a day for working on our book. Sara and I came up with some good plans for the next section we need to work on, and it sounded so exciting that I can’t wait to see how it turns out on the page.

I hope you’re having a wonderful weekend! Adios for now!

About Brandy

Brandy Bruce is a Bookvana award-winning author, editor, wife, mother, and someone who really loves dessert. She has a BA in English from Liberty University. She currently works as a freelance editor--reading, writing, editing, and making good use of online dictionaries. She's married to Jeff and has three beautiful children.

Leave a Reply

