RSS Feed

Blog Tour! The Thorn by Beverly Lewis

Posted on

 Lancaster County, with its rolling meadows and secret byways, may seem idyllic, but it is not without its thorns. THE ROSE TRILOGY is the stirring saga of two Amish sisters on the fringes of the church, and the unforeseen discoveries that change their lives.

Rose Kauffman, a spirited young woman, has a close friendship with the bishop’s foster son. Nick dresses Plain and works hard but stirs up plenty of trouble too. Rose’s sister cautions her against becoming too involved, but Rose is being courted by a good, Amish fellow, so dismisses the warnings.

Meanwhile, Rose keeps house for an English widower but is startled when he forbids her to ever go upstairs. What is the man hiding? Rose’s older sister, Hen, knows more than she should about falling for the wrong man. Unable to abandon her Amish ways, Hen is soon separated from her very modern husband.

Mattie, their young daughter, must visit her father regularly, but Hen demands she wear Amish attire–and speak Pennsylvania Dutch, despite her husband’s wishes. Will Hen be able to reestablish her place among the People she abandoned? And will she be able to convince Rose to steer clear of rogue neighbor Nick?

Okay, so truth is, I’m smack-dab in the middle of this book. So while I can’t tell you if I found the ending satisfying and the last half compelling–I can tell you that so far it’s fantastic, and having read lots of Beverly Lewis books before this one, she’s amazing and usually delivers!  (Can I also just say that I was eating in Jason’s Deli here in town sometime last year, and there was Beverly Lewis, sitting behind us. I was there with our editorial book team and while I wanted to march over there and introduce myself, I couldn’t bring myself to interrupt her lunch date. So I admired her from afar. 🙂 ) Really, if you like Amish fiction and you’ve never read Lewis’s The Shunning, you’ve got to do it asap.

About Brandy

Brandy Bruce is a Bookvana award-winning author, editor, wife, mother, and someone who really loves dessert. She has a BA in English from Liberty University. She currently works as a freelance editor--reading, writing, editing, and making good use of online dictionaries. She's married to Jeff and has three beautiful children.

One response »

  1. I’ve been reading Beverly Lewis for years and was thrilled to gat a chance to read The Thorn.

    I was disappointed that very few (one, I believe) of the plot lines were ever resolved. I guess that’s why there is a book 2. Of course I’ll have to wait until April, 2011, for that.

    My own review of this book can be found at http://www.tracysbooknook.com.

    -Tracy

    Reply

Leave a Reply

