RSS Feed

Diving In

Posted on

Do you ever have one of those tasks that you just need to dive in to, but it feels like a huge task, so you put it off for as long as you can until the guilt gets you?

Mmhmm. Me too.

Sara and I have been brainstorming about our book and I need to make some changes to the framework–basically rework the beginning of the book. I do know that doing this will make the book stronger and will overall be something I’m glad about it. Right now, it feels like a big task. Of course, I love to write, so big task or not, it will be something I enjoy. But it needs to turn out just right, and that’s a little inundating.

I go through this with authors all the time. Early on in the publishing process, usually right after an author has sent me a completed first draft, I go through it and then type up a letter explaining any need for rewrites or added material or cuts or more development–yada yada yada. Then the author is given a few weeks to make changes or whatever. I’m not on a timeframe since we’re still at the proposal stage, but still, I need to dive in pretty soon or this book will never get finished.

Anyway, so Kels and Scott came over for dinner tonight and that was super fun. I love it when they come over. Jeff and I had spent the entire day decorating his new office. My husband works for Edward Jones and he’s taking over a new office, starting next week. Very cool. His office looks great. 🙂

OK. I hear a certain baby girl I know crying. Time to run.

About Brandy

Brandy Bruce is a Bookvana award-winning author, editor, wife, mother, and someone who really loves dessert. She has a BA in English from Liberty University. She currently works as a freelance editor--reading, writing, editing, and making good use of online dictionaries. She's married to Jeff and has three beautiful children.

One response »

  1. “Diving in” is the right title for this. I’m working on a rewrite of my manuscript and some mornings I just have to hold my nose and jump off the dock into whatever scene I last left. I use Hemingway’s trick of leaving off writing scenes in the middle so that when I return, I’m already knee deep in action. It’s harder to jump into a new scene cold.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

