RSS Feed

Giving Up on the News

Posted on

I seriously need to take a long break from watching or reading the news. Yesterday I felt like I was drowning in Arizona information every time I logged on to the Internet. And the more I read about it, the more annoyed I get with politicians. That continued on today. There was some tragic news yesterday, too, about a terrible instance of child abuse and neglect, and so I  felt sick about it and cried for a long time. It’s really, really hard for me to read anything like that without feeling hopeless about some things. I was reading this article the other day about the beauty all around us and how this just shows us how awesome God is. I don’t want to argue with that. But really, sometimes when I hear that, I want to say that I’d trade a whole lot of gorgeous nature for a place where kids aren’t abused. Anyway, I don’t want to get into all of that now. I was distraught enough about it last night. Today I’m trying to avoid the news unless it has to do with Harry Potter. 🙂 That’s about all I can take today.

Seriously, I can’t tell you how excited I am about the last two movies. Or the theme park! My sister and I are planning our trip to the Mecca that is the HP Theme Park, later this winter. I can’t wait. And even before that the 7th movie comes out! Such fun things to look forward to.

I’m also really looking forward to this weekend. I’m planning to get some work done on THE book. I’ve started working on the book proposal (or series proposal actually) and I need to pow-wow with Sara about it. Not too much longer now and we’ll be finished with Book 1! I can’t wait.

Stay tuned.

About Brandy

Brandy Bruce is a Bookvana award-winning author, editor, wife, mother, and someone who really loves dessert. She has a BA in English from Liberty University. She currently works as a freelance editor--reading, writing, editing, and making good use of online dictionaries. She's married to Jeff and has three beautiful children.

3 responses »

  1. Spending a lot of time in the hospital visiting, the news is all that is on. My parents watch nothing else unless my kids are there and then they try and find Andy Griffith.

    The thing is, that much news will get to you. Since people are essentially boring, the news will find anything to make you watch them.

    Make your switch to Andy Griffith and find some happiness!

    Reply
  2. hey 🙂 Love the story about your vacation – and the honesty! I have had some crazy airplane rides with the kids… we’re up for some more fun in sept/nov… looking forward to it (read: clenching teeth and having nightmares) already!

    here’s a news article you might like, though… http://edition.cnn.com/2010/TECH/web/08/02/8.sites.brighten.day/index.html?iref=obinsite#fbid=e7FpCvsyy_h&wom=false

    Reply
    • Leah, one friend gave me some super good advice about flying with kids. She told me to have a bag full of new (inexpensive) toys (or old ones they haven’t played with in a while) on hand and don’t bring them out until you need them. So I had a bag full of dollar-store toys and whenever Ash got fussy, I’d pull out something new and it helped divert her attention for a while. Just an idea! 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

