RSS Feed

Books. Books. Books.

Posted on

So, I just finished reading this book, The White Queen by Philippa Gregory, and I loved it. Here’s something to know about me: I like real-life mysteries. They sort of make me crazy, but still, I like them. Mysteries like Anastasia, and Amelia Earhart, and the man in the iron mask, and the lost colony of Roanoke–that kind of thing. So this genre of historical fiction is right up my alley. The story is about the two princes in the tower, who are a mystery–no one really knows what happened to them. Philippa Gregory is a really good writer–I was gripped all the way through, stayed up late and had to finish it the next day. I also found interesting (throughout the book) the mixture of paganism and Christianity. It seems incredible that these women were praying to (and being empowered by) a certain goddess, at the same time, going to church and praying to God and taking communion and celebrating Easter and such. Anyway–it’s an intriguing element of the book. I wonder what really happened to those two princes. I like to think that (as Philippa suggests) at least one of the boys lived.

So, if you like historical fiction as I do, I recommend this book. And if you know what happened to those two princes, please tell me. 🙂

About Brandy

Brandy Bruce is a Bookvana award-winning author, editor, wife, mother, and someone who really loves dessert. She has a BA in English from Liberty University. She currently works as a freelance editor--reading, writing, editing, and making good use of online dictionaries. She's married to Jeff and has three beautiful children.

2 responses »

  1. Monica Cavazos

    Another great historical fiction novel–along the lines of the Phillippa Gregory books–is The Traitor’s Wife, the last name of the author is Higginbotham. She also wrote as a follow up to that book Hugh and Bess, which is also good.

    Reply
  2. Monica, I will definitely check out The Traitor’s Wife! Thanks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

