RSS Feed

New Day

Posted on

So I just finished reading this women’s magazine that was chock-full of ideas on how to be a healthier person. I’m so inspired right now. I’ve opened all the windows in my house. Even the house feels healthier now. Of course, a lot of the suggestions about healthier living had to do with smaller meal portions and choosing more steamed and less buttery and all that kind of stuff. That’s not inspiring, really. Depressing. However! They suggested walking and drinking more water. This is great news! Those are two things I’m doing. I think summer inspires me to want to be healthy. Winters in Colorado are so long–and I love winter foods and winter clothes and winter holidays. But when summer finally arrives in Colorado, it’s like it’s a new day for everyone. People are outside, the mountains are gorgeous, the weather is nice. And I’m inspired to be a better person all around. This kind of wanes about September, but that’s okay. Because this is just May. Summer’s just begun for us, really.

Another one of the magazine’s suggestions was de-stressing. Finding some time to do things that make you happy. They suggested acting like a kid again. Think of things you did when you were a kid that made you happy–like bike-riding or board games–and incorporate some of that into your life again. I think this is a great idea. Just this week, online I found this kids movie Sara and I used to watch when we were little that we loved.  So I ordered it. And getting it in the mail and watching it with Ashtyn was so fun. It sparked all these memories for me, and it was great to get to share that with Ashtyn now. So being a kid again is a good idea–in some ways. I don’t really recommend playing with barbie dolls or buying a hamster. Are you confused? It’s just that everyone I know (including me) seemed to have a hamster when they were growing up. Go figure.  

Well, Jeff’s spending some time with his Little Brother today, and Ashtyn and I are setting goals about having a healthy summer. And it’s a gorgeous day. Excellent.

About Brandy

Brandy Bruce is an author, editor, wife, mother, and someone who really loves dessert. She has a BA in English from Liberty University. She currently works as a freelance editor--reading, writing, editing, and making good use of online dictionaries. She's married to Jeff and has three beautiful children.

One response »

  1. My sentiments exactly! I’ve learnt putting myself a little higher up the priority list makes me feel so much better! Good luck with the walking and water! x

    Reply

Leave a Reply

