RSS Feed

So upsetting

Posted on

So listen to this, Ashtyn and I received this adorable package in the mail yesterday from Sara . . . except for one thing, someone had already opened it and emptied the box!!! How upsetting. I was just sick over it. Really. And I knew Sara would be too when I told her, but I had to tell her. I can’t believe someone did that. And right now I just continue to have all these frustrated feelings about it.

Okay, next subject. Here’s something positive: It looks like Jeff’s been assigned to a little brother! We’re both super excited about it. Hopefully everything will work out great. This whole process has been ridiculously long. Seriously. But we finally seem to be getting somewhere. I just know Jeff will be a really great big brother. He’s just that kind of guy.

So, Michelle (BFF) and I were talking last night about the major changes that have happened in our lives from the time we were about 19 to right now. Major as in working all the time, turning thirty, having a baby–you know what I mean. You know how it just hits you that all your friends from high school have pictures of their kids on facebook? I’m feeling old today, I guess. Anyway, getting old isn’t the worst thing. Especially when you have people you love doing it with you.

I know I would never want to go back through high school. I hated high school–well, some of it. Anyway, I would never want to go through college again–that would mean again wanting to die every time I had to go to Spanish class and pretend like I knew what was going on! (Imagine not knowing any Spanish and then having to give a speech in Spanish at the end of the year and allow people to ask questions that you answer in Spanish! I get sick thinking about it all over again. And then consider the very sad fact that your mother is fluent in Spanish but you can only introduce yourself, ask what time it is, order enchiladas without onions, and ask where the bathroom is.)

So . . . what came after college? Oh, right, internship. Well, it was really fun but I wouldn’t want to do it again. Seeing as how I was newly married but left my husband in Virginia for three months. (Jeff is really so tolerant.) After that . . . um . . . working at LU. I really liked getting to decorate my office. But when it was time to move on, it was time. I do miss Osaka in Lynchburg though. Miss, crave, you know what I mean.

That brings me to life in Colorado. Working as an editor and being Mommy to Ashtyn–love it. (And being Jeff’s wife. And having snow days. And seeing the mountains every day.) All I need is to convince Sara to move here . . .

About Brandy

Brandy Bruce is a Bookvana award-winning author, editor, wife, mother, and someone who really loves dessert. She has a BA in English from Liberty University. She currently works as a freelance editor--reading, writing, editing, and making good use of online dictionaries. She's married to Jeff and has three beautiful children.

One response »

  1. No way about the package!– I thought you would end up tell me it was an April fools prank from sara! Did you call the post office? There is a 1800- customer service number to call and just let them know :)- If sara has the post office payment receipt even without insurance they sometimes reimburse you, well 20 yrs latter though.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

