RSS Feed

Easter Weekend

Posted on

So it’s Easter! We had a good holiday. Went to church with Kels and Scott then went over later to have lunch at their house. Ashtyn got an Easter basket this morning and was excited to get a pinwheel . Her tiny whisper of a blow didn’t do much to move the pinwheel though, and this little girl of ours can get frustrated quick. So the pinwheel ended up being shaken more than anything. Anyway, so listen, it was my job to bring dessert to Kelsey’s house today. So last night, I was making a peanut butter cup cheesecake and worrying that it might not turn out right and wanting to try something new–all of this ended up with me deciding to make two cheesecakes. So I got to try a new recipe and make a chocolate cheesecake. It looked great when it was finished. So today, we’re rushing out to the car to leave, and I’m trying to pack a diaper bag and fill sippy cups of milk and pack drinks and so on. I have this one pie carrier that works great for cheesecakes too. Important word here being one. So I’m coming out to the car and holding the chocolate cheesecake on a plate. And it slips right off the plate and rolls onto the ground and under the car. I just stood there. Jeff was in the car watching this happen and I know he was instantly concerned about my emotional status. I didn’t cry but I easily could have if I let myself think about it. Anyway, we drove away–and the cheesecake was just sitting there on the street.

It was a quiet car ride.

Luckily, the pb cheesecake turned out perfect and no one even knew that there was another beautiful cheesecake now sitting on the ground in front of my house.

Anyway, here’s something else I feel like saying: I do NOT know how people with 19 month old children socialize. It’s not possible. Conversation’s not possible. Being still isn’t possible. Being focused isn’t possible. I don’t know if I’m doing this parenting thing wrong or something–but Ashtyn doesn’t sit still. Like ever!! And she doesn’t know what she wants, but she still whines for it anyway!

OK, so I’m tired right now. Despite the ruined 2nd dessert and the baby that cries and fidgets–I would say it was a good Easter. Beautiful day. I still adore that fidgety baby. And dinner and 1st dessert were good. Now I’ve just finished mopping the floor. (What a shock.) And I think I should rest while I can. I’ve finished reading all my new books so I think I need something new. Anything new really. Jewelry–movie–book–lipstick–you know when you just need to have something new? Yeah. That’s how I feel. Well, friends, I hope you’ve had a fantastic Easter weekend.

Cheers. 🙂

About Brandy

Brandy Bruce is a Bookvana award-winning author, editor, wife, mother, and someone who really loves dessert. She has a BA in English from Liberty University. She currently works as a freelance editor--reading, writing, editing, and making good use of online dictionaries. She's married to Jeff and has three beautiful children.

9 responses »

  1. Loved this post. I could feel the craziness and can completely relate. I have three children, older than yours now, and after all these years the only advice I can offer is…Deep Breath! Happy Easter!

    Reply
  2. Great job not having a meltdown over the cheesecake! That’s what I would have done! I remember when my son was Ashtyn’s age I actually lost a dear friend (childless then) because she felt I didn’t care about her anymore because I no longer “paid attention” when she was talking. I saw her four years later carting around her two-year-old and she begged my forgiveness. It wasn’t until she had a moving toddler that she realized there is NO way to have an uninterrupted conversation and keep an eye on a child that age. Friendship restored. It will pass. My son is 21 now and he can still still for days. (only kidding).

    Reply
  3. Bran.. what!!! – now I am going to spend the whole day thinking about the cheesecake on the drive way! I am proud of you for not getting mad- I would be sad upset! I love cheesecakes!

    About having adult conversation with a toddler — mmm please call me when you crack the code. I feel like I cannot even finish my sentences anymore!

    Love you post! Happy Easter!

    Reply
  4. Well, as the recipient of the pb cheesecake and oblivious to the chocolate disaster, I must say it was delicious and you were cool, calm and collected! We loved having you over. And to the constant movement of a sweet girl and to any detriment to our social conversation, let me just restate the wise words of a friend, “I’m not affected.”

    Reply
  5. hey girl!! if you ever get out to Lynchburg way .. let us know!

    Reply
  6. Melanie Larson

    This actually made me laugh out loud:

    “Jeff was in the car watching this happen and I know he was instantly concerned about my emotional status.”

    xoxo

    Reply

Leave a Reply

