RSS Feed

There you have it.

Posted on

Hi there. So it’s been a while since I’ve updated. I’ve actually just felt like taking a break from blogging and twittering and facebook-stuff. There is no taking a break from email because that’s just the way it is. But I’ve had other things on my mind lately. I can say that my hope to help a family in need hasn’t worked out as well as I’d hoped. It’s surprising how many people don’t want to help people they don’t know. Anyway, there you have it. But seriously, do you ever think that some people are actually more interested in saving fish on farmville than in helping real people?

Here’s something good, I have been so surprised by the fact that there were a few people who don’t even know me (much less the family in dire straits), but were willing to help. That’s nice to see. And I do want to thank those friends of mine who have been awesome to help and pray.

Anyway–Well, I’ve finished up some great projects at work lately. It’s always fun to work with nice authors and good material. I finished reading the book I told you about by Liz Curtis Higgs and it was so good that I just wanted to think about it for days. I’ve had some time to work on the book (that Sara and I are writing). And I love how it’s coming together–I just wish it would come together faster. Today is Sara’s birthday by the way–I cannot imagine life without my sister. She is absolutely a gift to me. Both of my sisters are really–I’m just lucky when it comes to sisters, I guess. But I am waiting on pins and needles to hear how Sara likes the present I got her. Birthday presents were and are the best idea ever.

Today is a gorgeous day in Colorado, btw. I can look outside and see Pikes Peak and feel happy. I just wish it would rain. I wanted to wake up to rain. Sometimes you just feel that way, you know? Of course you do. It’s very quiet in my house (Ashtyn is obviously asleep). And I really feel like I need more quiet in my life. More quiet and more rain.

What else can I tell you? Well, my husband brought me jelly beans and sour patch kids yesterday because he loves me. Ashtyn is talking more and I love her little voice. And to see this little girl dance is hilarious and wonderful. Sisters and daughters are two of my favorite things. 🙂

About Brandy

Brandy Bruce is a Bookvana award-winning author, editor, wife, mother, and someone who really loves dessert. She has a BA in English from Liberty University. She currently works as a freelance editor--reading, writing, editing, and making good use of online dictionaries. She's married to Jeff and has three beautiful children.

2 responses »

  1. Just as an encouragement to you, I think that these days many of us are helping a lot of people that we don’t know (from Haiti to families local to us with whom we weren’t previously close) so maybe the disappointing response wasn’t about people not wanting to help strangers but about many people already helping lots of strangers and even family members who are out of work. Many Christians I know are giving more sacrificially than usual as of late. I’m just saying . . .

    Reply
  2. Thanks, Lori. I hope you’re right. I was just amazed at the lack of response even from people just saying that maybe they couldn’t help right now but would pray for the situation. But I know it’s probably a lot closer to my heart since I’m closer to the situation and see up close and personal the pain of these fellow Christians.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

