RSS Feed

Thursdays and broken things

Posted on

So I started to blog Thursday, then got distracted and thought I saved it for later, now all I’ve got is the title and no idea of what it was I wanted to say. I guess I’ll just move on to Fridays and broken things. Broken things make me crazy–like this printer that still isn’t working right even with new parts! Make me crazy, why don’t you?

Anyway, this week was just so nice b/c I felt like so much was accomplished and sometimes those weeks can feel few and far between (even if they’re not). And today was Friday and I got to spend lots of time with Jeff and Ashtyn, and Jeff’s not making me watch the Steven Seagal/vampire movie he rented–so I love him more than ever.  And he agreed to watch (sort of) Up in the Air with me even though he’s anti-George Clooney. Really, there’s just so much love in this house right now. 😉

So, since so much has been accomplished lately, now I can get back to work on the book Sara and I are writing. I had to take a small break as I was drowning in work. But I’m excited to get back to it.

But somehow, even when so much is accomplished, you still have to clean house constantly. It’s so annoying. That whole cleaning house thing absolutely never ends. But I’m holding off on accomplishing that sort of thing till tomorrow. For now, I’m just thinking of how much I like Friday nights and how glad I am that Jeff bought Ashtyn a new CD player. Because, of course, the CD player we owned that played her lullaby CD has died. And she NEEDS that music to sleep and we NEED it for the same reason. So, tonight the lullaby CD is playing in her room and life is so much better. Can I just tell you that Ash is now trying to repeat everything we say? It’s so hilarious. Her favorite word is puppy, despite the fact that we do not have a dog. But if she even thinks she hears one barking, it’s “Puppies!” over and over again. Sometimes I catch myself just randomly saying the word–it’s becoming such a part of our dialog.

Well, so let me just tell you that I saw the movie Bleak House this week. I usually avoid Dickens-esque movies and books because he has rather a bleak outlook on life and I can’t take much more of that without feeling like I’m on a sinking ship without a life jacket.  But I’m a big fan of BBC movies (Pride and Prejudice, for example) and you can’t seem to watch any of those movies without seeing previews for Bleak House, so I watched it. And even though it’s one of those watch-once type of movies, I enjoyed it and the ending wasn’t as depressing as I feared. So I do recommend it as a watch-once film.

Well, it is Friday night so I should probably take advantage of all this wonderful quiet (except for Steven Seagal killing vampires in the next room) and finish reading Shadowland. And maybe eat a brownie.

About Brandy

Brandy Bruce is a Bookvana award-winning author, editor, wife, mother, and someone who really loves dessert. She has a BA in English from Liberty University. She currently works as a freelance editor--reading, writing, editing, and making good use of online dictionaries. She's married to Jeff and has three beautiful children.

Leave a Reply

