RSS Feed

Anniversary

Posted on

Click  on image to continue virtual tour

So this is where we went to dinner last night to celebrate our anniversary: Briarhurst Manor in Manitou. It was a really nice restaurant and I had trout with an almond-butter glaze (which I liked) and Jeff had duck (which I tried and did not like). You know how sometimes food looks so beautiful that you really want to like it? And you think that you should like it because very sophisticated people like it? I know. And it’s so sad when you just can’t make yourself like it no matter how hard you try. Sigh.

So anyway, Jeff and I had a really good time together and kept talking about Ashtyn. I guess that’s normal. We think about her so much that we talk about her when we’re finally alone! She’s just so much a part of us right now. (OK, plus there was a baby crying somewhere in the restaurant that sounded just like Ash).

So we’ve been married 7 years now. Crazy. And we’ve been together 11–or somewhere around that. On Monday, I’ll tell you how we met, since that’s the real anniversary date.

Jeff and I were also talking about our “bucket lists.” I think it’s a good sign when you have goals for the future, but you’re content with where you are at the moment. I think that’s how he and I both feel. There are things we want to do, but right now, we’re fine. We’re content. Btw–Manitou is a really cool historic city at the bottom of Pikes Peak. It’s got all kinds of fun restaurants and shops and all that good stuff. And there’s this river going through it. So last night, I noticed these tents by the river and I told Jeff I can’t believe anyone would want to camp when it’s so cold outside. And he told me that those people aren’t exactly camping–that area is called tent city and it’s where some homeless people live.  Seeing people living in tents when it’s 30 degrees outside kind of helps you feel content with where you are, especially when you currently have a wonderful family and a safe and loving home and are on your way to a really nice restaurant. So, yeah, we didn’t feel like we had anything to complain about last night. I’m always reminded how much I appreciate that Jeff and I feel the same way about so many things. About the really important things.

Anyway, so date night for the Bruces went really well and we’re still very happy to be married to each other and lucky to have found each other. 🙂

About Brandy

Brandy Bruce is a Bookvana award-winning author, editor, wife, mother, and someone who really loves dessert. She has a BA in English from Liberty University. She currently works as a freelance editor--reading, writing, editing, and making good use of online dictionaries. She's married to Jeff and has three beautiful children.

2 responses »

  1. Congratulations! Sounds like a wonderful anniversary. You further God’s kingdom just by loving each other and loving Ashtyn.

    Reply
  2. Happy anniversary my friend. You are so sweet to stop and think of the homeless on your special day!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

