RSS Feed

love story

Posted on

So, listen, the other night I was crying while I was reading the end of this book. The girl realizes she loves the guy and is willing to leave everything and move to another country to be with him. And they meet halfway in the middle of the airport. And I’m just crying because it’s so sweet.

You know how people always ask you what your love story is? Like how you met the person you’re with? I always want to know that kind of thing. My story (and Jeff’s) isn’t really all that amazing, but it’s ours so I love it. I also love my parents’ story. Here’s how my parents met: My dad was a cop in Houston and my mom was working . . . I forget where. Anyway, something had been in the news lately about police brutality–some cops beating someone up or something like that.  Well, my dad was on a call downtown where a little Mexican man (I think he was homeless) was bleeding. I think he fell over drunk or something and hit his head. So my dad was standing there with him, waiting for the ambulence to arrive.

My mom is driving by. Let me just say that my mom is a gorgeous, hispanic, spitfire of a woman. 🙂 Anyway, so she sees my dad–this tall white cop–standing with this poor Mexican man who’s bleeding. She pulls over and goes over to my dad and asks him what he’s doing to this man.  

So my dad explains that no, he’s not beating him up; he’s waiting for the ambulance. Then he asks for my mom’s license. She doesn’t think he really needs to see it, but ends up giving it to him. So! My dad has now found out who she is. I can’t remember if he asked her out right then or called her at work–I think it was that he called her at work to ask her out. And the rest is history. Just your everyday love story: girl thinks guy is beating up innocent people and intervenes, guy thinks girl is pretty and tracks her down.  🙂

Isn’t that great? I’ll tell you mine and Jeff’s next time. Ash is currently running through the office, ripping up everything she can get her hands on.

About Brandy

Brandy Bruce is a Bookvana award-winning author, editor, wife, mother, and someone who really loves dessert. She has a BA in English from Liberty University. She currently works as a freelance editor--reading, writing, editing, and making good use of online dictionaries. She's married to Jeff and has three beautiful children.

Leave a Reply

