RSS Feed

Nightmare

Posted on

So here’s the truth about me: I woke up from a Syfy-ish nightmare this morning at 4 am. I dreamed there was this huge black spider coming after me (like the size of a lid of a very large trash can). I woke up, terrified, and told Jeff I’d just had a nightmare about a spider. He wasn’t really too worried  about it (read: not worried at all). But I woke up scared about 3 things: First, I suddenly wondered if a dream about black spiders could be an omen saying bad things are coming into my life. Two, what if my subconcious was warning me about a spider near me? (though I have never seen a spider in our house). And three, what if I fall back asleep and dream about it again?

So I laid awake worrying about those 3 things until I fell back asleep. I know I dreamed about other things, but I’m pretty sure it wasn’t about the spider. I edited a book about sleep last year so I happen to know that we all dream (during REM sleep), but some of us remember our dreams and some of us don’t. I am one of those people who has super-weird dreams, and they usually wake me up right then or I remember them in the morning. In fact, I don’t like dreaming much at all. If I could have wonderful dreams it would be different. But mine are always really random and not pleasant–or they’re about things I want to forget.

Why would I dream about a spider? I was watching Gone with the Wind last night. There’s not even one spider in that movie.  Btw–I so love that movie. It’s one of the best ever.

OK. No time left. Talk later.

About Brandy

Brandy Bruce is an author, editor, wife, mother, and someone who really loves dessert. She has a BA in English from Liberty University. She currently works as a freelance editor--reading, writing, editing, and making good use of online dictionaries. She's married to Jeff and has three beautiful children.

Leave a Reply

