RSS Feed

Classic Toys

Posted on

You know that thing we were doing where Jeff and I only go to the grocery store once a week? Yeah, we’ve had to extend that to twice week. We had to! But I still think I’m doing better with my shopping. So Sunday night I watched the first part of the new Masterpiece Theater version of Emma. (Jeff was like, “What is this, the tenth remake?”) Anyway, so there are lots of remakes…so far I really like this one. So much so I’m thinking of hunting it down on YouTube to see the rest now instead of having to wait till next Sunday. Maybe.

So here’s the truth about me: I can easily spend way too much time on Amazon.com. You know how you can try to find something you liked a long time ago but haven’t seen around in forever, so you find it on Amazon, and then you find all these recommendations for other great things you’ve forgotten but would love to have now that you’ve remembered? Right. I love it.  (And yes, I’m aware that sentence is really long, but I like to be conversational so just pretend you’re listening to me say it, instead of reading a run-on sentence.) Anyway, speaking of things you’ve forgotten, I was at Target the other day buying a baby gift and found this section in the toys department that had vintage toys! Seriously. Like those old dial-up phones that also made noise. And Lincoln logs. And those weird sock-looking monkeys that everybody owned (who knows why). I was so shocked by this that I wanted to tell people, but it was late and I was alone and there wasn’t anyone around who looked like they’d be excited about it. But now I’m telling you! I was standing there feeling like this is the coolest thing ever–then I was thinking that I’m not sure I’d really spend however much it was they wanted on that  phone, because it’s probably on eBay if I really want it. But do I really want it? Nah. But still! It was so cool to see all these toys that everybody used to have. On another toy-related note, here is something interesting: You can buy a toy ATM machine. Really. I’m not kidding.

About Brandy

Brandy Bruce is a Bookvana award-winning author, editor, wife, mother, and someone who really loves dessert. She has a BA in English from Liberty University. She currently works as a freelance editor--reading, writing, editing, and making good use of online dictionaries. She's married to Jeff and has three beautiful children.

Leave a Reply

