RSS Feed

Not enough sleep

Posted on

So lately I’m tired all the time. Even when I’m not tired, I am tired. I happen to be one of those people who can fall asleep in about two seconds flat, pretty much wherever I am. Btw, this makes Jeff crazy. He’s one of those people who stares at the ceiling for forever thinking about everything in the world. What can I say? It’s a gift. I don’t usually have trouble sleeping. Waking up is a different story.

I think one of the best things about being married is always sleeping next to someone (the same someone, of course). But part of the marital adjustment is learning to sleep with someone who’s different from you. Jeff likes the sheets and covers to be perfect and straight. I fall into bed and move around and wrap myself up like I’m in a cocoon. This really drives him crazy. I’ve done this since I was a small child. I remember once, my parents came into my room and sort of freaked out because they couldn’t find me, until they realized I was rolled up in the blankets at the bottom of the bed–like a burrito.

 Also, wherever Jeff is, I am. I’m usually cold and need to take up every bit of warmth I can. We have a king-sized bed, which I love, but no matter what, Jeff says we only use the edge of it, because wherever he is, that’s where you find me. I stick to him like a magnet. There have been so many times where he’s nicely asked me to reach around him and see how much room he has (what happens is that I do this and realize half his body is hanging in the air and he’s telling me to move over). But still, with all the differences, it’s just one of the best perks of being married. (He agrees with me, btw.)

So tonight we went out to dinner (Yay for me for sticking to my resolution! Confession: Haven’t bought vitamins yet. Very important to do so quickly.) But I’m just so tired. I’m wondering if this is now a permanent part of my life. I feel like maybe it is because I remember my mother always being tired.

So listen, Ashtyn’s been saying “Mommy” all the time now. (I do mean ALL the time. Like over and over and over.) But really, it’s just so sweet to hear her say that. And it just makes me feel so lucky to be mommy to this little blondie (who has a tendency to be fussy). She is such a gift.

But I was up with my gift at five this morning so I’m tired.

About Brandy

Brandy Bruce is a Bookvana award-winning author, editor, wife, mother, and someone who really loves dessert. She has a BA in English from Liberty University. She currently works as a freelance editor--reading, writing, editing, and making good use of online dictionaries. She's married to Jeff and has three beautiful children.

Leave a Reply

