RSS Feed

Desserts and such

Posted on

So here’s the truth about me: I’m the kind of girl who stops on her way to work in order to pick up gummi bears and sour gummi worms.

Jeff and I are trying this new thing where we only go to the grocery store once a week. This might sound normal to you, but our trips to the grocery store weekly are usually way more than one. (I won’t tell you how many.) I must be a terrible shopper or something. When we first got married, we lived across the street from a Krogers. Then we moved to Colorado and ended up living in a neighborhood right next to a King Soopers. Now, we’re not next to a grocery store anymore, but all my habits are the same. I just think of stuff we need all the time. And for some reason, all of those things never come to me at once. And I do write lists! (You might be thinking that stopping at a convenience store for gummi worms is just as bad as going to the grocery store, but it’s not. Trust me on this.)

Anyway, I was desperate to have a dessert tonight, but I frantically searched my kitchen and realized I did not have any ingredients to make something great. And it’s still like three days from when I can go to the grocery store!!! This is not easy.

What did I do? I made a chocolate pie without the crust. I had everything but the crust. It’s kind of like chocolate pudding–but more thick and with meringue instead of whip cream. I don’t know. But it works as dessert when you need it to. And I managed to stay away from the grocery store so I’m feeling pretty good about this.

If you have tips on how to avoid making regular (and I do mean regular) trips to King Soopers–please enlighten me.

OK. Gotta run. The Good Wife is coming on soon and I am so a fan. It’s great. But I flip back and forth with really wanting the lawyer girl to like the lawyer guy (rather than cheater husband who’s in jail at the moment). Jeff tries to talk me out of this. Like wanting Olivia and Eliot on SVU to get together despite Eliot’s current rocky marriage and million kids. Jeff tries to talk me out of hoping for this as well.

But it’s TV. I mean, seriously. There could be worse things.

About Brandy

Brandy Bruce is a Bookvana award-winning author, editor, wife, mother, and someone who really loves dessert. She has a BA in English from Liberty University. She currently works as a freelance editor--reading, writing, editing, and making good use of online dictionaries. She's married to Jeff and has three beautiful children.

Leave a Reply

