RSS Feed

Big Brothers

Posted on

So Jeff had his interview with the Big Brother/Big Sister program today. We had wanted to do this as a Big Couple (isn’t that a cute title? ūüôā ) but they prefer it just be us and our little (in other words, no Ashtyn). So it’s better this way–that way Ashtyn and I can both participate occasionally. He¬†said the interview went well. He’s really looking forward to spending time with a little. I just know he’ll be a fantastic big brother.¬†I am just hoping our little likes spaghetti. I happen to be a big fan of spaghetti, and just¬†out of the blue, Jeff has decided he’s not such a fan anymore. It’s crazy! How can you like it one day and then not like it the next? He’s okay with it if the sauce doesn’t have meat in it. But really, meatless spaghetti sauce isn’t the coolest in my book.¬†Anyway, two against one is always more effective, so making spaghetti sometimes for the three of us is something I hope will happen. Let me just give you an FYI–putting brown sugar in spaghetti sauce makes it fabulous. Try it.

Well, since I don’t have Shadowland yet, I’ve started reading Vampire Academy and I love it so far. I’m also reading Anne of Green Gables and loving it. I just read a scene where Anne is telling Marilla how much she loves mornings. They are so refreshing; it doesn’t matter if you wake up to rain or snow or sunshine–mornings are great. And the more I thought about it, the more I agree. I mean, getting up in the mornings is hard¬†(especially if you were rocking Ashtyn back to sleep at 4:30 AM, which is becoming a regular part of my life). But I love waking up to thunderstorms or snow-white mornings or bright sunny days. Mornings are refreshing. And they’re¬†quite a bit longer for me now that I’m always up early with the little shorty running around my house.¬†

So as you know, I’m an editor in real life.¬† And I’m diving into an edit at the moment and before I start, I always feel like I’ve got plenty of time. The minute I start, I feel like I underestimated the project and I need more time. From there on out, I’m in a frenzy until my part’s through. This happens everytime and is happening currently. So expect me to be a bit frenzied for a while. It should pass sometime around April.

About Brandy

Brandy Bruce is a Bookvana award-winning author, editor, wife, mother, and someone who really loves dessert. She has a BA in English from Liberty University. She currently works as a freelance editor--reading, writing, editing, and making good use of online dictionaries. She's married to Jeff and has three beautiful children.

Leave a Reply

