RSS Feed

Happy New Year!

Posted on

So I have to start this post with some wonderful news! I have a famous sister! 🙂 My sister Sara and her husband, Nehemiah, were married in April of 2009, and their wedding pictures can be found in the current issue of Weddings in Houston. Is that not the coolest thing? To the right is just one of their super-cool wedding photos. So I recommend everyone check out this magazine and see my beautiful sister and her handsome husband. You can also see their photos at the photographer’s website. I’ll post that link below.

Well, somehow things never quite work out like you plan. Jeff and I had planned to go out to dinner and a movie last night but hadn’t really planned well enough. Jeff had a meeting that ran a bit late and I went ahead to the restaurant we wanted to go to, and then I went to our second choice–looking anywhere for a place to eat that didn’t have an unbelievably long wait. We ended up finally eating at Outback where the wait was only for an hour, but missed the movie. Came home to relieve the babysitter, and then I was too tired to even stay up till midnight.

Anyway, I suppose it doesn’t matter. I’m starting 2010 with Jeff and Ashtyn in my life, and that’s the most important thing to me. And the fact that I have a family I love more than anything. So! On to 2010! Don’t you just love the sound of 2010? It’s got a great ring to it, I think. Well, even if things don’t usually go as planned, I think I should probably come up with a few more resolutions before it’s too late. If you haven’t caught up on the others that have been mentioned, I’m not doing a recap, so scroll down and remind yourself. All right, what’s my plan for 2010?

1. Look for God in unexpected places.

2. Help someone who could use it.

3. Finish book 1 with Sara.

4. Read to Ashtyn on a regular basis.

5. Go on more dates with Jeff.

6. Be authentic in my faith, even if it looks different from what people might expect.

7. Change something, at least one thing, about my life. (Obviously this needs to be a positive change.)

8. Recognize that these moments with Ashtyn go by fast, and enjoy them as much as possible.

9. Read at least five books that are already special to me and deserve re-reading or reading for the first time; read five books that are completely new to me.

10. Go on an adventure.

I think I could come up with about a thousand more resolutions, but they would never all be accomplished in one year and that’s about the limit of time one can keep up with these things.

So, farewell 2009, you were a good year. And 2010, don’t let me down.

Check out: http://www.jroephotography.com/main.php

About Brandy

Brandy Bruce is an author, editor, wife, mother, and someone who really loves dessert. She has a BA in English from Liberty University. She currently works as a freelance editor--reading, writing, editing, and making good use of online dictionaries. She's married to Jeff and has three beautiful children.

Leave a Reply

