RSS Feed

Decisions made the day before

Posted on

So I’m finding that it’s super hard to follow through with things lately. Like cleaning out the garage and vacuuming and things like that. At the end of the day I think of these lists of things I will definitely do the next day (lists include things such as what I just mentioned) and then the next day comes and while I still have the lists in my head, I’m never quite as interested in them as I was the night before. It makes getting anything done really difficult. I mean, there are things that HAVE to get done, like editorial work. Of course, real deadlines do help when you need to finish something. But all that stuff that NEEDS to be done is so easy to push to the next day, and the next, and the next. Unfortunately, Jeff and I are both like this, so pushing each other to do something rarely works. All I know is that I somehow have to find the motivation to start checking off things on that list.  Jeff decided to clean out the refridgerator this morning (kind of a shock to me) and he’s pulling everything out and I know he’s inwardly (or not so inwardly) blaming me for things. For example, imagine him saying loudly, “Half empty can of 7Up? Check!”  (I am the only one who drinks 7Up in this house.) So anyway, I keep thinking that work-work (aka, real job) will be slowing down for me right around Christmas and I’ll find the energy to make lists and actually use them. Here is something that I actually decided to do and then did it: Jeff and I have wanted to join the Big Brother program for forever. We decided to wait till we moved to the springs since that seemed to make sense, and now we’ve finally signed up and will be going to our orientation next month! Great! Hey! That’s an early resolution I can cross off!

I am feeling better about this day already.

About Brandy

Brandy Bruce is an author, editor, wife, mother, and someone who really loves dessert. She has a BA in English from Liberty University. She currently works as a freelance editor--reading, writing, editing, and making good use of online dictionaries. She's married to Jeff and has three beautiful children.

One response »

  1. That’s funny. Lists were on my mind today, today. My blog post is called Making a List and Checking it Twice. http://loristanleyroeleveld.blogspot.com/
    I love your transparency, Brandy.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

