RSS Feed

Happy Thanksgiving

Posted on

So I’m very, very thankful today for my little sick baby. 🙂 Ash came down with a fever so we’re solo this holiday. We’ve just sort of accepted that she will always have a cold. I think it’s one of those things that just comes with daycare. But the fever thing makes everything worse. We took her to the doctor yesterday morning. And I learned that I need to be doing just about everything differently with her. So her life is changing immediately. Too old for the bottle, too much time with the pacifier, not enough fruits and vegetables, less mac n cheese….and so on. Sigh. How do some moms seem to know everything? And the rest of us–well, taking my child off the bottle never really occurred to me. Anyway, she’s adorable. On that ‘adorable’ note, the doctor also was kind enough to tell me about a four-year-old she knew who was bald. Hmmm.

In other words, don’t worry that your baby’s hair is coming in sloooooowly.

So, it’s just me and Jeff and Ash and a turkey this year. (And Georgia.) Miracle on 34th St AND It’s a Wonderful Life are both coming on TV in a minute. So I will flip back and forth for the next two hours and Jeff will go crazy. Lovely. Okay, I just heard Ashtyn run into the door as hard as possible to get my attention. She and Georgia really do have so much in common. Love of empty boxes, run into things to remind people of their existence, want to be held always on their terms, etc. Here’s something interesting: Ashtyn loves garlic sauce. Do many one year olds like that stuff? I don’t know, but Ashtyn was introduced to it yesterday and loved it. 

All right, I must make my claim on the remote while I still can. Happy Thanksgiving to all. I love living in a country where it’s a mad house at the grocery store the night before Thanksgiving, and everyone has a frozen turkey in their shopping cart. Seriously. It’s consistent and familiar and I like it. And I like turkey. And stuffing. And pecan pie.

Good times. 🙂

 

Oh, P.S. New Year’s Resolution #2. Take daughter off the bottle and only give her the pacifier at naptime.

About Brandy

Brandy Bruce is an author, editor, wife, mother, and someone who really loves dessert. She has a BA in English from Liberty University. She currently works as a freelance editor--reading, writing, editing, and making good use of online dictionaries. She's married to Jeff and has three beautiful children.

Leave a Reply

