RSS Feed

A Garage Full of Boxes

Posted on

So it’s been ages since I’ve written. I thought I should tell everyone that we’ve finally moved. Moving is so terrible. Well, packing boxes and moving boxes and furniture and then constantly digging through a sea of boxes in your garage to find your shoes, clothes, towels, etc. is the really terrible part.

My mom flew into town to help, which made all the difference in the world. And some of our friends helped move everything Sunday. We’ve been steadily unpacking and trying to get somewhat organized so Jeff and I don’t kill each other. Neither of us function very well when everything’s a mess.

So leaving the house on Hamilton was a bit emotional for me. I suppose that’s normal. I just started thinking about the first time we walked through the front door with Ashtyn and then I felt like crying.We really were so ready to move–but in the end, driving away and knowing we’ll never be inside that house again was a little sad. Our lives changed in that house. I remember sitting in the bedroom when I started having contractions and knowing that no matter what or how–I’d be coming home with a baby soon.

But letting go is a healthy part of life. I do believe that. If you’re letting go for the right reasons then it can be liberating and exciting. So we’re now in a cute little house with a view of the mountains and tonight we’re supposed to go over to one of our neighbor’s house to meet everyone. Hmm. That probably means I should head toward the garage now to find something to wear tonight.

I just heard the little one cry from her room. I guess I’m still typing too loudly. I must work on that.

About Brandy

Brandy Bruce is an author, editor, wife, mother, and someone who really loves dessert. She has a BA in English from Liberty University. She currently works as a freelance editor--reading, writing, editing, and making good use of online dictionaries. She's married to Jeff and has three beautiful children.

Leave a Reply

