RSS Feed

The Great Search

Posted on

So it looks like we’re moving. I’m glad about this for lots of reasons. The only problem is how terrible the actual ‘moving’ part is. Packing and loading and unloading and unpacking and all the sweating that goes with those things. Today Jeff and I are actually going to go househunting. This sounds fun but it won’t be because we have a one year old who hates being in the car and makes it her ambition to make sure everyone knows how unhappy she is while she’s in the car. I know there are some kids who fall asleep as soon as they’re in the driveway. Ashtyn is not one of those kids. And we haven’t quite mastered the art of tuning out all the screaming, but I think we’re getting there. We’re most likely going to rent a place for a while. Jeff thinks not having to do any yardwork for a long time sounds like a positive thing. My main concern is the garage issue. That’s non-negotiable for me. We must have one. Not only b/c we have a ton of stuff–but it’ll be winter in Colorado pretty soon and rushing out the door in the mornings, only to stand in the snow for an hour and scrape snow off the car windows, is tragic. Too many times I have been that person driving around with only a tiny circle to see through b/c I just didn’t have time (or motivation) to do more. And Jeff’s all about warming the car up before I leave–and he thinks that takes more than two minutes. Anyway, so a garage is a must.

But you know what I really want? A fantastic kitchen. That’s what I’ll be looking for (second to garage). I’m slightly sad that Ashtyn will not be able to appreciate the wonderful nursery Jeff and I have made for her. I’ll just have to re-create it in the next house.

If it weren’t for all the terrible parts about moving, I would probably be up for it every couple of years. As it is, I’m afraid it will be happening twice for me in the next twelve months. And strange things happen when you move. Unexplainable. Like the last time we moved from our apartment to the house we’re in now–my favorite coffee cups were lost. I REMEMBER packing them. But they were lost and have never been found. They matched my everyday dinnerware and were the cutest cups ever and losing them was awful. I looked everywhere possible at least five times.

I will keep this in mind as I’m packing this time around. There are certain things you just cannot lose. Like photo albums. And books. And china. And college diplomas.

I once left one of my favorite sandals at the YMCA in Estes Park. It was devastating. I loved those sandals and I’m not one to get attached to shoes. I called over and over asking about it and am not convinced anyone actually looked for it. I finally threw the other one away. Since then, I do not allow myself to be overly attached to shoes.

Okay, we’re leaving soon for the househunting excursion. I’ll let you know if we find any acceptable garages and kitchens.

About Brandy

Brandy Bruce is a Bookvana award-winning author, editor, wife, mother, and someone who really loves dessert. She has a BA in English from Liberty University. She currently works as a freelance editor--reading, writing, editing, and making good use of online dictionaries. She's married to Jeff and has three beautiful children.

Leave a Reply

