RSS Feed

Procrastination. That’s right.

Posted on

Have you ever heard Ellen Degeneres’s stand-up about procrastination? My sister and I saw it together a few years ago and loved it and took to quoting it to each other all the time. Well, I saw it again on HBO the other night and loved it all over again. She’s hilarious. Right this moment, I’m procrastinating. I’ve been searching for babysitters/daycare for Ashtyn and am taking a small break even though Jeff thinks I’m still searching high and low.

Can I tell you something major? I turned thirty this week. It’s shocking really. THIRTY. Wow. I’m wondering how it is I got this old and still don’t know how to do so many things. Anyway, more on that another time. This week was pretty crazy. I flew home from VA Monday. We had layoffs at my job this week. I turned thirty on Wednesday. Jeff passed his Series 66 today.

I just took about a three-hour break from writing this post b/c my best friend (who is also thirty and knows how it feels) called. We were talking about humiliations from childhood that we didn’t realize were humiliations until now that we can look back on them. I so love talking to someone who can remind me of what we did at camp when we were twelve. Michelle’s one of those soul-mate friends I can’t live without. But it’s so crazy that we’re thirty and now we talk about what our daughters are doing. Somehow it feels just right because we’re both in that place.

I saw that movie Julie and Julia with Sara while I was in Roanoke. It’s really good so you should see it if you’re that person who likes girl movies with hilarious moments that all girls can relate to. Sara and I kept practically crying with laughter. Which was okay because we were two of four people in this fantastic old theater downtown. I really liked that the main girl wanted to start something she actually finished. Because regardless of what it was she did, finishing was an accomplishment. I absolutely love it when one of the books I’ve worked on and edited for months finally comes out and I can see and touch the finished product. I think life without any sense of accomplishment must feel a  bit oppressive. I probably need more accomplishment and less procrastination. Hmm.

About Brandy

Brandy Bruce is an author, editor, wife, mother, and someone who really loves dessert. She has a BA in English from Liberty University. She currently works as a freelance editor--reading, writing, editing, and making good use of online dictionaries. She's married to Jeff and has three beautiful children.

Leave a Reply

